Vintage flower design

Ever since I can remember I have always loved decorating the house. As a child, I enjoyed playing with dolls, but my favorite part of this activity was creating these dolls' houses from scratch.

Then, the actual script of playing with dolls didn't interest me much... I really liked to exercise my creative side by improvising (even if I had no idea I was doing it). After all, as I had a childhood permeated by financial scarcity, I didn't have a dollhouse, or toy furniture, or many clothes for my Barbies. And this caused me to create absolutely everything...

I decorated my dolls' house with objects from my mother's real home decor. The little crocheted tablecloths that my mother used to decorate the furniture in our house, in my dolls' houses took turns as rugs, bedspreads for the beds, blankets for the sofas (which used to be my school cases) and even dresses for the dolls.

Today I can see that the scarcity of resources undoubtedly made me a creative child (and adult).

If I can say that my passion for creative decorating comes from my childhood, I can also say that another passion - that for vintage and floral print objects - also comes from this same phase of my life.

Besides playing with dolls, I loved collecting letter papers. I had folders and folders full of papers with the most varied kinds of illustrations. But my favorites were the vintage models - always with botanical illustrations - that I inherited from an aunt.

Today I understand that most of my adult tastes have been with me for my entire life and are practically my aesthetic and artistic identity, since flowers are present in my furniture, my sheets, my clothes, and even in my photography.

Time scars and objects with a memory

Home decoration is made of meanings and I always liked to have objects that made sense, that carried stories... even if these stories weren't mine.

When I find a piece of furniture or a piece of clothing from another era, I always catch myself thinking about the places where it once lived, the hands that touched it, or the bodies that dressed it. The mystery that surrounds vintage pieces has always fascinated me.

Around here, I call the small "defects" common in old pieces the scars of time. Just like the ones we accumulate throughout life. But, just as we transmute our wounds and give new meaning to the past, I believe that these pieces can also be resigned to gain new uses.

Vintage shop

So, as I know you also like items that carry memories, I've decided to share my love for vintage decorative objects and botanical prints and started to sell pieces that I find in my wanderings.

I'm completely in love with this first batch of pieces and wanted to share it here with you as well, as my first post in this community.

All the pieces will be posted through my Instagram decor profile, A Alma da Casa, and I can send them around the world. Here you can find details of each item.

If anyone is interested, be sure to send me a message.

Hope that you like it :)

IMG_7953 - Copia.JPG

IMG_7991 - Copia.JPG

IMG_7978 - Copia.JPG

IMG_7973 - Copia.JPG

IMG_8001 - Copia.JPG

IMG_7992 - Copia.JPG

IMG_7939 - Copia.JPG

IMG_7931 - Copia.JPG

In addition to the floral design pieces, I also found this vintage framed mirror in my latest scavenger hunt. It is hard to sell this piece, as I am completely in love with it. Seriously, nothing compares to the design of vintage pieces.

IMG_8056 - Copia.JPG

For those who like content about interior design, I invite you to follow my page on Instagram and also my profile on Tiktok.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now