An Experiment in Traditional Thai with Modern Design

I posted some time ago about the home I am building for myself and my family in Phuket. I bought the land some time ago and it was only last year that I finally had funding approved for the construction. Now my friend has just been to photograph the progress for me and he also put his drone up to get some aerial photos. This is just fantastic for me to see because a big part of the design was trying to incorporate that beautiful high peaked roof that is so well known in Thai architecture but with a more contemporary style for the main part of the villa and living spaces. You can see in the aerial photos the high roof. I used a kind of white clay tile from North Thailand. I have included my initial sketch that my team turned to render below to see the design concept I started with.

Mary House 01.jpg

Mary House 04.jpg

Mary House 08.jpg

I used reclaimed teak floorboards for the upstairs. They have already been laid and my team are sanding them now. Look how wide they are. I was very lucky to find them - they were reclaimed from an old temple in North Thailand many years ago and have been sitting forgotten in a warehouse. They will look just amazing once sanded and finished nicely. Here's me giving my team some shit...:)

Mary House 02.jpg

The upstairs of the house is coming together. I will have a glass balustrade on the balcony and am using reclaimed wood from a recent renovation project for the eaves. I love it when I have the opportunity to re-use materials left over from demolition stages of one project into a new house.

Mary House 03.jpg

Ceiling work is ongoing in the downstairs. I have a double volume ceiling for the main living dining areas and then standard height for the kitchen and other areas. My team have nearly finished running all the MEP so soon they will start putting up the paster boards for the ceilings. Below is the work in progress and a couple of renders of the design concept my team did for me prior to construction.

S__15491154.jpg

Mary House 06.jpg

Mary House 05.jpg

Mary House 07.jpg

The bathrooms I have designed using natural materials such as stone and wood. Every girl likes the idea of a nice big bath to soak in at the end of the day so I was sure to include that. The bath is terrazzo from Bali - I actually posted about the bath tubs in another story but you will need to look at my blog to see it. No photos yet from the bathrooms but here are the renders....

S__15491151.jpg

S__15491149.jpg

S__15491150.jpg

My house is getting closer and closer and soon I will start to build the furniture and artworks to decorate the interior. I hope you guys like my house and the direction it is going. It's been a long time coming and I'm so excited to see it getting nearer to completion. I think 2 more months and I will have my house warming party! Thanks for reading and have a lovely week everyone!

Mary House 09.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center