The "House of Friendship": Architecture and Romance

Greetings to all!


Whenever I visit the Vedado neighborhood, one of my favorite places because of its beautiful mansions and impressive architecture, I pass in front of a big house that attracts me a lot. Currently, this house is the headquarters of the Cuban Institute of Friendship with the Peoples. Every time I asked if I could enter I received a refusal, but they say that who perseveres triumphs, so, on my last visit, once again I went to this place and asked for permission to enter, without much hope of being able to do so. What a great surprise I had when the person in charge of guarding the entrance told me very naturally that yes, of course I could enter! I think he looked at me a bit astonished by how excited I got 👏

This house is not only famous for the beauty of its architecture and design, but also for the touching love story it holds.

Cover.png


The mansion is located on Paseo Street, in Havana, Cuba. Its construction dates back to the early 20th century, and it was one of the most beautiful and luxurious mansions of its time. It is a pity that on this particular day they were not giving guided tours and many of the rooms were closed. But I am sure that these images that I am sharing will be enough to show the beauty of the place.

After crossing its pink marble steps and passing by the lion sculptures on either side, we arrived at the main entrance arch with its two large columns. Upon entering, we found ourselves in a very spacious and elegant hall, illuminated in a natural way only with the light coming in from the door and the courtyard. The floor is made of marble with colors between carmelite and orange. All the doors are made of precious wood and on the upper part have a delicate blacksmith work. The interior of the house is very elegant, with high ceilings and a large number of columns.

IMG_20231005_120207.jpg

Mosaico6.jpg

Mosaico2.jpg


On the upper floor, there is an arcade that looks very beautiful from below, and that is something that characterizes this house: the large number of columns and arches it has. One goes up to the upper floor by means of its large marble staircase in the shape of a "snail's spiral". Marble is a very beautiful material that can be found in many of the old and elegant mansions in Havana's Vedado district, and this house is no exception. Most of the materials used in its construction were imported, such as the stained glass that we can appreciate as we go up the stairs, which was brought from France. It has beautiful colors, and in its center the family's noble coats of arms. I imagine that when it is illuminated by the light of the lamp hanging from the ceiling it is even more beautiful. As I went up I found another stained glass window very similar to the one in the staircase. Both of great beauty

Mosaico3.jpg

IMG_20231005_115026.jpg

Mosaico4.jpg


This floor is where the personal rooms and toilet room are located, but most of them were closed, so it was a pity I couldn't take as many pictures as I would have liked. After this little tour, I went down to the garden which I was eager to enter.

IMG_20231005_115039.jpg

IMG_20231005_115254.jpg

Mosaico7.jpg


Activities are held in the large courtyard of this house, and the space is rented out for events and parties. There are several tables set up and they have made a cafeteria. The place where the cafeteria is located is very cozy, with dim lighting and good ventilation. It is decorated in shades of green and black, and has a marble fountain adorning the center and several tables around it where you can enjoy a quiet and intimate atmosphere. The lamp on the ceiling caught my attention because of its size and unique design, it turns out that it is also a large planter where plants can be planted.

Mosaico1.jpg


The gardens surrounding the house are very well kept, colorful, planted with flowers and different ornamental plants. There are stone benches and a beautiful sculpture of a half-naked maiden. Actually, I would have liked to see more details of the house and its rooms, so I plan to return another time and arrange a guided tour.

Cover.jpg

IMG_20231005_113743.jpg

IMG_20231005_113814.jpg



At the beginning I mentioned that this house was also the scene of a beautiful love story, and I would like to share it as it is closely linked to everything that surrounds it.


Love and Misfortune

🖤

In this house lived Juan Pedro Baró and Catalina Laza, both loved each other very much, and this passion was so great that their story has survived them through the years.

The mansion was a gift that Juan Pedro Baró gave Catalina, he had it built especially for his beloved, who was one of the most beautiful and dazzling women of her time. The two met at a party and loved each other from the very first moment, even though Catalina was a married woman.

In the early years of the last century, divorce was not legalized in Cuba, and Catalina's husband, hurt by her infidelity, refused to separate. She was expelled from her home and accused of bigamy, going to live with her beloved. The new couple suffered the slander and rejection of the society in which they lived, but they were determined to live their passion so they decided to leave Cuba and move to Paris. Still, their dream was to return and be accepted as a legal couple, so they went to Italy and requested the annulment of Catalina's divorce directly from the Pope.

To their joy and surprise, the supreme pontiff was moved by their story and granted them the annulment of the Catholic marriage, as well as his blessing. In addition, the new Cuban president had approved the divorce law, so they were finally able to return to their country to live their love in front of everyone.

Unfortunately, real life is not like fairy tales and not every love has a happy ending. After four years of blissful living in this beautiful mansion, Catalina fell ill and her health began to deteriorate. Juan Pedro took her to France to be treated by the best doctors, but she never returned to Cuba alive. She died in Paris, leaving her husband in great sadness, who died ten years later. His mortal remains rest forever next to those of his wife.

This mansion and its story of true love has moved the people of Havana over the years.

I hope you have enjoyed this magnificent place and that you have been moved by its history.

See you next time!👋


For more information about this place, you can visit this 👉 site



-All images are my property, taken from my Xiaomi Redmi Note 10C cell phone.📱



-You can follow me on my social networks:

Discord: jordy0827#8374

Twitter(X)


WHC.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center