The Architecture of Takayama Cafe, Kamisannomachi, Japan


Hi my friend in Architecture+Design,

How are you today?

Let's take a walk in the Takayama area, Kamisannomachi, Japan. To reach this old town area takes about 3-4 hours from my flat in Ina, Nagano. But this time I don't want to talk about various corners of the old town, I want to show you a cafe that is very identical to this old town. That is Takayama Cafe.



  • Takayama Cafe, Kamisannomachi

Takayama Cafe is located in the old town area of ​​Kamisannomachi, Japan. This is a tourist area that will be crowded when the weekend arrives. Not only will it be filled with local tourists, but tourists from various countries will also crowd this place. Like when I went there, I could even recognize some tourists from Indonesia, who filled this Old Town area. The number is not small, it is more than many people who are divided from several travel agencies. Usually, tourists who visit here during winter are tourists who will also visit Shirakawa-Go.

  • Outdoor Space

I know why the outdoor area is so quiet. It should be crowded with visitors, but because it's winter, people prefer to sit in the heated indoor area. So the outdoor area looks deserted.

Just because it is located in the old city area of ​​Japan, the building of Takayama Cafe is very traditional. Forget about the furniture that looks modernized, look at the walls of the outdoor area. It is very thick and identical to Japanese buildings in the past that have walls that are not so high but have a modern touch through glass walls that are made alternately with wooden walls.

The access is made of pebbles and mosaics from portland cement. Then some plants are cultivated in every corner.

This is the entrance from the side, which has a sliding door, which is so thick with Japanese culture. I also like the design of this door which has a dark brown color and is shaped like a gate to enter a kingdom.


  • Indoor Space

In this section, I have to highlight the room filled with wooden furniture that is often used as furniture for minimalist concepts. The color of the furniture is made to match the color of the room which is the brown color of polished wood with a touch of black in the part of order section.

For this indoor part, I can't give many photos because Takayama Cafe is full of costumers, and if I take pictures too intently it will disturb the customers. As you know that Japanese people are very concerned about their privacy so even though I don't mean to take pictures of them, seeing me taking pictures in front of them will definitely make them angry. So for the comfort of all, I can only show a small part of this indoor part.



It was best experiences as long as live in Japan besides the Popular places. I wish I have that nice experience next. Thank you for stopping by my blog.



Joon
Hello everyone, you can call me Joon. Welcome to my blog. I would like to share my journey in Japan. I live in Japan. Japan is my country dream since I was child. Now I felt blessed because I can live in Japan for working.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center