The Architecture of Kualanamu International Airport



9LSkWSt6UdNfCaLG_IMG_5502.webp
yhFdIVL2XMlkufji_IMG_5483.webp
ZgUZ29EmpU3QSgU4_IMG_5492.webp


Hi my friend in Architecture+Design,

How are you today?

North Sumatra Province, whose capital is Medan, currently has two airports, namely Poland Airport and Kuala Namu International Airport. Previously, before Kuala Namu International Airport, all flight activities were carried out at Poland Airport in Medan. However, with the rapid development of the capital city of Medan, the condition of Poland Airport no longer allows for flights, so the government built a new airport located far from the city. Currently, Poland Airport has been deactivated as a public airport and converted into an airport managed by the Indonesian Army Air Force.


Kuala Namu International Airport


Currently, all domestic and international flights for North Sumatra Province are centered at Kualanamu Airport. This building was built since 2006 and was officially opened in 2013. When it was just finished being inaugurated, Kuala Namu Airport was not only an airport but also a place of recreation for the surrounding residents.

Previously, Polonia Airport located in the city center had become an airport that was unable to accommodate many passengers and the number of flights. At that time, Polonia Airport had not yet become an international airport. However, on
2005, there was a Mandala Airlines plane crash that crashed into a residential area, which also killed the Governor of Sumatra at that time, Tengku Rizal Nurdin. After that incident, plans to build a new airport in the Deli Serdang area were implemented.

Let's take a look...


I still remember how many times I have visited Kuala Namu Airport to travel. The first time was at the beginning of its opening in 2013 when I first flew in my life, to Japan. After that, I didn't travel so often by plane until I finally had to go back to Japan last year. Kuala Namu Airport has not changed much over the years.

This is the departure gate. There will be an ornament like a gate in front of it, with a theme adjusted to a certain event.

The concept of this airport architecture is High-Tech by combining the cultures of several tribes in North Sumatra, namely the Batak Tribe and the Malay Tribe. The concept of Architecture Kuala Namu Airport similar to the concept of Soekarno Hatta airport in Jakarta, especially Terminal 3.


The Kuala Namu International Airport had 2 floor which the first floor is the space for arrivals, while the second floor is the departure space operates. In addition, on each floor there are many markets that will make you not bored to look around. This airport is also had long lounge both on the ground floor or on the departure floor. When your flight at the midnight or early day, you can waiting your flight while sleep on the lounge. There is no the security will reproach you, I swear!


IMG_5503.JPEG

IMG_5506.JPEG

IMG_5505.JPEG

IMG_5501.JPEG

IMG_5504.JPEG

IMG_5507.JPEG

image.png

This day, Kualanamu International Airport become one of busiest airport in Indonesia because the passanger who will take off to ASEAN country, Japan, or others country don't have to transit in Jakarta because there are so many direct flight.

The Kuala Namu International Airport is the cozy public place, even more cozy than a place like mall or others in Medan.



It was best experiences as long as live in Japan besides the Popular places. I wish I have that nice experience next. Thank you for stopping by my blog.



Dicky Joon
Hello, my name is Dicky but you can call me Joon. Welcome to my blog. I would like to share my journey in Japan. I am Indonesian live in Japan.
Japan is my country dream since I was child. Now I felt blessed because I can live in Japan for working.
I am not perfect on writing, but I wish you still enjoy my story.



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center