Palacio Barolo - Buenos Aires

If you don't speak Spanish at all like me and are looking for places to go and see in Buenos Aires, this experience should be the number one in your list. It's well worth it, believe me. I recalled not feeling so thrilled when I first saw the building. However, my perspective changed completely after I finished the tour. I told myself I had to share it with our Architecture and Design community. There are so much to learn about this building, and our tour guide did a fantastic job of explaining the story behind it.

The name of the building is Palacio Barolo and it is in Avenida de Mayo. According to this website here, it was built in 1923. At the time, it was the tallest building in South America. Designed by the Italian architect Mario Palanti for businessman Luigi Barolo, the architecture concept of Palacio Barolo is based on the Divine Comedy with the lower floors representing the first part for hells, the intermediate level for the purgatory, and the upper levels are heaven.

The building is 100 meters high, which corresponds to the 100 cantos, while the 22 floors correspond to the 22 verses of “The Divine Comedy.” I didn't remember this but my partner said the tour-guide mentioned that the design of the building's meaning is taken from the Masonic lodge and other Italian influences.

We started the tour at the ground level of the building where we bought our tickets. At that moment, I understood why I didn't feel so thrilled when I first saw this place. The building's entrance is supposed to be Hell, and I am not a big fan of hell. I don't like darkness and monsters.

Do you see monsters everywhere? I know they are just statues but still not a fan

There is a pattern on the floor here that simulates fire. Our tour guide said there are nine of them in total to represent the nine circles of hell

Above is a dome, blocking the view to paradise. I quite like the look of this dome, spending quite a lot of time to look at it.

Throughout the tour, we were shown how Italian architect influence is factored into the building’s design. If you know the colour of Italian flags, you will recognise it from the floor photos below.

Colour of Italy flag - red, blue and white.

One of the symbols of the masonic lodge is the chain which represents on the floor tiles

I love old style elevators. My attempt to take a photo with the elevator was failed due to lack of light and we need to move for people to get in the elevator

The sculpture above is not the original one. We learned that the original version was stolen in the past, and when they found it, it was damaged and only a fraction remained. Now the fraction is displayed in an exhibition dedicated to the tour which I will show you later.

Even though the place is open for tour, it is still use by company offices, legal practices and artists workshops which we didn't visit because they are all private. However, as access from the tour, we can go to visit a small exhibition room with pictures and some other objects that show the history of the building. Bear in mind that they are all in Spanish or Italian so I have no idea what they are about.

As I mentioned above, this is what's left of the sculpture that we saw earlier

From the upper levels, you can have a 360 view of the city. We were so lucky to do the tour around sunset because it looks even more beautiful. It was a bit hard for me to move around as the upper levels are very narrow and you can look directly down to the street - not a perfect place to be for people who are afraid of height. Getting there through narrow spiral stairs so we always have to remind the person behind to be careful with their head or their legs.

Sunset view over the Palacio del Congreso, the seat of the Argentine National Congress - Worth our effort to go this high to the lighthouse. I think this is the place with one of the best views of Buenos Aires.

Buenos Aires city - upside down - it is really cool to sit inside the small lighthouse - I think it has enough room for only 10 people. I didn't dare to sit on the glass as I was scared of looking down to the street

I am so glad my partner took me to visit this place. I really enjoy the stories of how the building was built based on the Devine Comedy and what the architecture tried to achieve with the lighthouse - to communicate with a similar building, the Palacio Salvo. However, due to a miscalculation, the lighthouse is just a little too short to be seen from the other lighthouse. Source here

So there you have it, my top destination in Buenos Aires. If you happen to visit this capital city, make sure to check out this place and visit it around sunset time as the view is spectacular.

divider.png

Hive viet badge (1).png

Designed with Canva

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency