Art on the Road ~ Portable Zine Distribution

Traveling is a great way to get my art out into the world. Each journey long or short is always preceded with a zine making session. I want to have a handful of my newest publications to share with friends and strangers I meet along the way.

Yesterday I finished packing my clothes and have my snacks pretty much covered. All there is left to do is lounge in the afternoon shade and cut out a dozen or so copies of my two most recent publications.

Zine making is as integral a part of handmade art culture as needlepoint or crochet. These booklets contain the collages made with my own photography and my handwritten essays on a variety of subjects in the realms of witchcraft and herbalism.

Recycled paper is my favorite medium on which to print and I bind with colorful thread. But, there are so many ways to self publish zines besides that! Over the years I have experimented in this medium and am finally finding a look that resonates.

Some of these booklets will be sent to my pen pals and the rest will be listed on my Etsy shop which I only really operate when staying in the United States.

And lucky for me I already have a couple of orders for my newest zines. Tomorrow night I will finish writing personalized notes and mail them out in the morning from my sister's neighborhood. And on the way to the post office I may very well drop off a few zines in some little free libraries I see along the way!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center