community
"musky business"

Elon Musk, Twitter, and Free Speech

This is probably the shortest post I'll ever write, but it is something I believe to be of note, although anecdotal. I've been reading a lot about how Elon Musk has saved the day, at least saving free speech on Twitter after buying the platform so I decided to put it to the test.

Back when I was writing for Zenith News my Twitter account was unceremoniously shut down. I decided a few days ago to attempt to resurrect my account which I was able to do without incident. However, I wanted to see just how dedicated they were to free speech so I posted a few memes, sayings by Orwell, Ayn Rand, etc. Again, no problem.

I decided to push the envelope and posted an article about Covid vaccines that I had posted here on Hive awhile back. I tagged it with #Covid and #Vaccines. Within an hour I recieved a notice that my account had been suspended for a week or two, perhaps longer (I suppose until the snowflakes still at Twitter recover from their trauma and emerge from their safe spaces). So much for Free Speech!

ā€‹

On a more personal note: I was absent from Hive for some time. For over a year Google wouldn't allow me to access my account either here, Protonmail, or several other sites. Then one day a couple of months ago, it just stopped. It's also been a challenging year healthwise; I'm 77 years old and I just can't spend a full day at the computer writing like I did before. I spent the last eight years taking care of my good friend and former boss and he died last June. Enough about that... Suffice to say that my absense was not of my own doing.

Elon Musk, Twitter, and Free Speech

This is a cross post of @richq11/elon-musk-twitter-and-free-speech by @narfballs.

musky business

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now