Cycling 101: How I took cycling lessons to a college in my area. 

Taking cycling lessons at a college in my area.

Good afternoon everyone. I hope everyone is doing so well. Today I decided to do something different from other activities. I decided to pay a visit to one of the secondary schools in my town to educate them on cycling and why they should always ride bicycles.

It was an interesting moment with the students. Some of them told me how they love riding bicycles while others shared their fears about cycling. I titled my lesson as “cycling 101, which means introduction to cycling.

I was happy when some students told me that they will start riding their bicycles to schools starting next week while those who did not, told me that they will inform their parents to get them new bicycles.

The interesting part of the lesson was when I asked some of them to draw a bicycle on the white board. It was an interesting but hilarious moment. Some drawings were beautiful while others were not but I commended them for their efforts and attempts. More than ten students attempted to draw a bicycle. And each was unique on its own. I can't post all the photos I took here.

Cycling is an interesting exercise that should be introduced to children and adolescents in their early stage of life. It helps to strengthen their bones, and make them healthy and fit among their contemporaries. This is what I told them. I also taught them cycling reduces the rate of environmental pollution and it preserves the natural environment from spoilage. They were surprised to hear all of these for the first time.

According to them, they have never been taught cycling as part of exercise in school. The beautiful thing was that they were playing some games in their school. So I used the opportunity to inform them that I would like to introduce a cycling competition in the school, with a prize to be won. They were excited and expecting. However, I felt helpless when one of the students narrated how he got some injuries riding a bike in his neighborhood. I told him to be careful next time.

Children as well as adults love cycling but I think that we have not done enough to educate the people on the importance of cycling to the individual and to the community.

I promised the students to revisit them by next week. They were so happy.

That's how I succeeded in introducing cycling to secondary school students.

Thank you for stopping by my blog.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center