Going Off Road - End of Season Update


I quite enjoy cycling late evening in the summer because you avoid the mid-day heat and you can still enjoy that balmy sun, but it is not overpowering and starting to cool. You also can get to enjoy many cool sunsets.

In my post around 6 months ago, you will remember that I made some maintenance upgrades to my bike, including new tyres, inner-tubes etc. and this made for some enjoyable cycling in the summer. However, as it is a road bike, going off road was not so enjoyable due to the thin tyres and design of the bike.


Therefore, after riding all summer, I decided to part ways with my bike of 5 years. We have been through lots together, upgrades, maintenance and lots of cool trips and she has never let me down.

It was not an easy decision to part ways, as I could always use her now and again, but it wouldn't be the best use of her to be sat in a shed gathering cobwebs when someone could put her to good use. It was then that a very kind person contacted me with interest and decided to buy from me. We did some checks and the chain needs to be replaced, something that I didn't do until now, but she was very happy with the bike and took her off my hands. She will be used each day and by someone who would take good care of her.


With that in mind, I decided to start looking for a new bike, even though it is the end of the season. I thought to get another road bike, but then I thought I needed a bike that would open up new paths for me... take me off road!

Therefore after some trips to my local bike shop and testing many different bikes, frame sizes, tyre sizes, sitting positions.. I finally found a bike I was happy with and it also went off road.


It felt good to be riding through the forests again and over gravel. You have much more flexibility with riding if you do not have to stick to paved roads so much and can avoid dangerous cars.


With the summer season coming to an end though, there is not much time left to enjoy the season, but I am trying to go out as much as possible and enjoy the forests and sights that it brings.


So far my travels have brought me to new towns and areas to explore that I haven't seen before. I have crossed bridges connecting forests and avoiding the roads altogether.


I could even explore older towns and villages with cobblestones and drive over them with ease. I am pretty happy with my upgrade, although I still miss my old bike quite a bit, we traveled far together.

As the weather turns more wet and windy and sub-optimal for bike riding, I am riding less, but still try to get out when we have those sunny days and it makes you think of spring again and the upcoming start to the cycling season. In the new season, I won't have much to do for my bike, maybe some new pedals and bags for those longer rides.

How was your cycling season?

Thanks for reading.

mypathtofire divider.jpg

Credits:

All photos are my own.

mypathtofire divider.jpg

Let's connect : mypathtofire

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center