A discovery, a butterfly and a bit of dust...

IMG_20240816_192713.jpg

That was a discovery. It was not just the name of the bike that suggested it but the new feeling that this bicycle gave me. After the bike I showed you in my previous posts, I finally changed my vehicle. I really needed a better one as the place I wanted to go was a bit tricky. I would not make it with the other one and my niece would not be pleased with her road bike either in the dirt road where we rode this afternoon.

My leg got better today (from the bite of the horsefly two days ago) so I suggested my niece go cycling together in the afternoon. My son let me his bike (which was years ago my husband's bike) and my niece took her boyfriend's mountain bike. We were upgraded. 😂

IMG_20240815_220945.jpg

While waiting for my niece I tried to get my new friend from yesterday to come to my hand. It is a butterfly that flies there already for a few days around this time (late afternoon). Yesterday I started to communicate with it.

I stretched out my left hand, to land on it... but this butterfly has its own desires, so it landed three times on my right shoulder and once on my right hand where I was holding the phone. Of course, I couldn't take a picture of her like that. Then she landed on my mom's shoulder, but she still wouldn't go on my left arm. I tried again today, I was waiting for my butterfly... and do you know where she decided to land today?

Check this out! 😳

IMG_20240816_192905.jpg

I don't know if I will manage in a few days to tame this colourful winged creature to land on my left hand and take a photo of that. A few years ago I had a similar encounter, in the same place with one of her ancestors. Coincidence?

Ok, let's leave the butterfly story here and ride this discovery. I wanted to visit one swamp that I hadn't visited for some twenty years or more. I vaguely knew where it was, somewhere between the fields.

IMG_20240816_195654.jpg

IMG_20240816_194821.jpg

A little stop to drink water! I hoped we were on the right path. The direction was good, and I was prepared for dirt roads but in one moment it became critical.

IMG_20240816_194328.jpg

The critical part was still not here, here it was more or less ok. I stopped because of the sunset.

IMG_20240816_194753.jpg

IMG_20240816_194320.jpg

But now - dust, dust, dust, dust... mixed with sand - it became impossible to ride in some parts. We were searching for the parts of the road where it was easier to cycle. Here just tractors pass when farmers visit their crops.

IMG_20240816_195103.jpg

Despite this little dust issue, we enjoyed the landscape and the summer evening. Evening... hmm... it means that it would get dark... soon... and we were still in the middle of the fields. 😂

IMG_20240816_194758.jpg

We decided not to stop anymore. We should find the swamp and get out from the dust roads to civilisation, as soon as possible.

IMG_20240816_195457.jpg

Finding the swamp - done.

Cycling without any stop - done.

Finding an asphalted road and civilisation - done.

My niece and I didn't go home immediately after our little adventure on the dusty roads. It was already dark but being in the town was fine. A little detour was made to the river; we saw Anja - the chrome bird, then the temple and fed some hungry mosquitoes. If you stop, they attack!

IMG_20240816_201818.jpg

P.S. I hope to survive the moment when my son sees his bicycle. It is terribly dusty now! 😂

mipiano_-_MP.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
38 Comments