RESTRICTION TO RIDE?

So today while at work, a female colleague of mine told me she would need a bike, I waved that statement as a joke, she had to repeat her self that she's serious about it, altho this was not the first time she was telling me this, this time she meant it and she was working towards the plan, even tho it's against her parents wish for her to ride a bike, sometime ago she said she ride one of her friends bike to her village which is far from were we are at the city centre, even I was surprised at this point, she could ride that far distance.

Then her father and mother all rebuked her never to try that again, I understand this, in our culture riding a bike is more like the male stuffs, so when a lady rides, it's more like a strange thing to see, that's why when she told me today she was planning on getting a bicycle I had to pretend I didn't hear that.

Like in my city it's only one lady I've seen ride her bike often and anytime I see her, I feel proud somehow, it's like she's defiling the norm 😂...

Currently now It's almost like everyone needs a bike cause of the high cost of transportation, before now you could see one or two bikes on the road but now, they re many, just this evening when I returned from work I stopped by a grocery store to buy some stuffs, a friend of mine who was there begged me, to ride my bike to some location to pick up something, when it seems I wanted to turn him down he begged some more lamenting that he couldn't afford to spend $1 just to reach out there and back, I just laughed and handed him the bike, he promised in 30mint. he would returned.

It really down on me how much cost of T Fare my bike had really saved me, most times I can just ride to work and back without a penny in my pocket.

So this day @nanawrites and her friend came around and they insisted they learn to ride, well @nanawrites was a bit experience riding, altho it's been a longtime ago

She could still ride well , just having some issues with it, but it was a pass mark for her, unlike her friend who has never rode a bike before gave me a tough time teaching how to ride

I think this norm in our society should be taken off, I see riding a bicycle as more of excersing than a means of transportation, burning some calories, sweating out, working out, flexing your muscle and all of that... I understand that it's here In Africa and some Arabic countries, that makes women driving the bicycle looks like something strange, in the western culture and Asia were it is a normal way of life, as a matter of fact it is considered the fastest means to get to work, cause no traffic or having to wait for the bus or waiting at the station for it to arrive.... So I'll just encourage my colleague to go ahead and get her bike

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center