The elves in the orchard

image.png
Source

 

With my heart pounding in my throat, I walked into the damp orchard under the light of the full moon.

The trees cast spectral shadows that seemed to move out of the corner of my eye. I clutched the flashlight tightly, held my breath and sharpened my hearing.

At first, only nighttime silence reigned, broken by the occasional howl of a coyote in the distance. But as I made my way through the fruit trees, I thought I heard ethereal murmurs, like children's voices carried on the breeze.

I stopped dead in my tracks when I spotted a small silhouette running through the bushes. The flashlight trembled in my hand as I focused it in that direction.

For an instant, a hooded figurine materialized before me, its face hidden in the shadows.

Then, a high-pitched, childish laugh burst in my ears, as if coming from everywhere at once. Terrified, I dropped the flashlight and ran without looking back, vowing never to set foot in that accursed orchard again.

The spectral laughter chased me until I reached the safety of the house. Since then, I have learned never to tempt the restless spirits of the past.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center