Godot Engine Game Development - My journey into Game Development

It's good to see that HIVE blockchain has the game development community. I have been writing game development tutorials for some time now. And it was kind of difficult for me to use other programming communities for these tutorials.

If you have checked Education community, I am sure you'd have came across my GDevelop tutorials.

Do let me know if you like such tutorials to be posted here.

I have been making Gdevelop game development series for kids and hoping that more kids pick it up as it is one of the easy engines. However if you are into university or completed education and maybe post education years. My suggestion for you is to make use of the Godot Engine.

godot.png
Image Credit : Godot Engine

Why Godot Engine?

There are many reasons for godot engine. Compared to gdevelop, the learning curve is steep but once you commit yourself to learning you get a lot of interesting results out of it.

  1. It's free and open source.
  2. It now has proper software conservancy support behind the engine.
  3. You can export to android, apple, windows and linux.
  4. You can make 2D, 2.5D insometric and 3D games from the engine.
  5. Settings and configuration once done can pretty much set you up for the lifecycle of project.

And I can keep on listing it's benefit.

I have so far in past have covered Gdevelop, AppGameKit, GameMaker Studio and now I am covering the godot engine. I am thinking that I should specifically choose one engine to make my posts here. So that this would keep my content consistent here. And if I make any other game engine related posts, I may try to keep in my it wont' be repeating content.

You can expect my godot engine specific content here. I have already posted a lot of it on youtube and few other places.

You can check my Godot engine Tutorials.

Am I going to make any game for Gplay store or Apple?

Blame my anxiety. I have made tutorials. I have made graphics and other content. But I have yet to gather some courage to finish a product worth posting on gplay or apple store. Something I guess I'd get that courage by writing on HIVE and other places and finally releasing my game. All I need is push outside this anxiety.

Coming back to the godot engine.

I'd say I am going to document my game development steps and then finally once every roadblock has been checked and my product is ready for the final output. I am going to release the project. Till then I hope to continue to write about it and make videos about it.

Look forward to some of my content that is focused on tutorials and the roadmap for my game design and testing.

That's it for now.
Cheers!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now