FORGIVENESS

We are humans and the tendency to offend one another is guaranteed but how you let go of such, depicts who you are. One of the things that hurts most is being accused wrongly or misunderstood. Because humans are social, beings we are bound to interact with and in the course of interactions there might be offences.

IMG_20231219_165700_019.jpg

While growing up, I have been taught to forgive people even before they offend me as that is the only reason to be happy. When someone hurts you and refuses to let go of such hurt, you will be unhappy and this can hinder your progress or growth.

Wise people forgive easily, but this becomes difficult when it is the person you never expected who offends you. You feel betrayed and cheated when you love or trust someone so much and the person offends you. You may find it difficult to let go.

I have been in this shoe some time ago, it was in my office. It started when I became a favorite to my director due to my honesty and some of my colleagues became envious of that. I didn't know of this as I thought I was at peace with everyone so I expected them to do the same. Unfortunately, it was not so. They started looking for fault in all I do and this hatred was obvious. I hated them and everything about them, my heart was embittered and I didn't have peace of mind during this time. I just wished they could apologize and stop hating on me. Yet, they seemed unrepentant.

IMG_20220523_185525_419.jpg

The hatred towards me was getting stronger as the days went by. One fateful day, I was misunderstood and they used that against me. They told all sorts of lies against me that it was obvious for anyone to know it was a case of envy. This got worse as they tried to implicate me on what I don't know of. In all, I acted like a little child who has got no offense against anyone. I was happy all the same.

However, God vindicated me when the matter was reported to the top management members and the matter was investigated. The investigative team found out that they lied against me as there was no evidence of their claim. This development made me happy and I thought within me that I was going to let go and forgive them.

When they noticed they were exposed, they couldn't approach me but became gloomy. Unknown to them, I have forgiven them and moved on. After a while, I approached some of them and told them that we are humans and not perfect, hence I have forgiven them. They were happy and we reconciled.

IMG_20221222_143840_869.jpg

Sometimes, it is difficult to let go but the ability or courage to do so makes us a better and wiser person. Forgiveness is not for the faint hearted, but for the strong. We must learn to forgive others for our peace and happiness.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center