The world we live in is a dangerous one, and the importance of self-defense cannot be overemphasized.

Hello, everyone.

I welcome you to my blog. As our world continues to evolve and improve in technological aspects, other aspects begin to lag or even get worse than they used to be, and one of the aspects that lags, or should I say is in jeopardy right now, is the security aspect of our world. Lives and properties were more secured back in the day compared to what we have now. I remember those days I wanted to become an adult so I would be allowed to move around late nights, but now as an adult, I don't even want anything to bring me out of my comfort zone once it is past 11 p.m.

Source

Self-defense is something a lot of people don't see as important, but its importance cannot be overemphasized. Some people feel there is no way they would ever fall in danger or need to use whatever self-defense mechanism they might possess, but trust me, even those who fell in danger in one way or another felt the same until it happened. You never know what tomorrow brings, which is why we ought to be prepared and avoid being taken unaware, as being taken unaware will be to our disadvantage. Being taken unaware is like a handicap match, and winning is nearly impossible. Nobody is praying or wishing they fall into danger, but sometimes it becomes inevitable.

I have female friends who move around with pepper spray, and one testified how it saved her from getting robbed a few weeks ago. She was on her way to night class and was approached by a guy who was asking her for her phone. Instead of having him the phone, she sprayed him and took to her hills. This is one of the many reasons one needs to have one or two self-defense mechanisms at their disposal, and sometimes even when we have some self-defense mechanisms at our disposal, we should as well try to avoid putting ourselves in the position to use them as they might fail. Going for a night class all alone at 10 p.m. for a lady is not advised, especially during the exam period, because during that period the streets get lonely even before 9 p.m.

For me, I have a few self-defense mechanisms I can use to fight my way through in case of danger. I learned the basics of boxing during my 100-level days when I used to engage in extracurricular activities. With that knowledge, I think I can save myself from danger if need be. I don't know if awareness and being conscious of one's environment can be considered self-defense mechanisms too. Well, if that is the case, then I possess that one to the fullest, as I am ever conscious of my environment and watching the moves of everyone and any suspicious move? I make mine before they move 😂.

Being conscious of my environment has helped me escape danger countless times. You just suspect a person or their move and remove yourself from the situation or area before it gets to the point where you will not be able to.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center