The hunt for a replacement phone: the unplanned bills.

It was early this year, and I am thinking of getting another phone. I must say I love the phone I'm using a lot. For the camera quality and the like, I was using a Google Pixel 3xL. And I believe the phone was very neat and nice. I must say that I learn how to use my phone very well, just because I don't have money to buy another one any time soon, and of course, because I'm an engineer, I know the bad effects of repairing a phone. It is just like a wound. It will never be like before.

IMG_20240607_170209_855.jpg

After a month, I had a conversation about my phone with my sister. My phone fell from a high place and fell on the ties. This was a lack of power supply. I do not have a choice but to find another means to charge my phone. Which I eventually did by using solar to charge it.
Unknowingly, the phone fell, and the screen got broken. But it was still working well.

I was using the phone like that, and honestly, my mind has been telling me it's a good time to save and change my phone. But I wasn't even listening. This was because I have another thing to spend money on entirely.

I left home around April's end, just a few days before my birthday. I left home for another state so I could start building things myself. As a man, I can't stay with my family, as I also need to have my own family.

After which, I left. I had to stay with my friend for a few days, so I can. Secure my own apartment. And fortunately for me, I was able to secure my apartment. And I was able to fix a lot of things I didn't expect.

IMG_20240607_170200_285.jpg

I also realized there is no power supply, and I needed it a lot just because of my gadgets. I found a hotel at which I can charge all the time. But that wasn't even enough. At some point, I realized: what if my phone was stolen, or what if someone else's phone was stolen and I was roped by a police officer? I mean, we are in Nigeria, so anything can actually happen.

To stop charging outside, I was able to get a very small generator that will only power my phone and gadgets. But another problem I had was fuel. I couldn't afford to get fuel all the time.

On Thursday evening, after which I had finished blogging, I realized I couldn't afford to get gasoline at that moment. So I need to find another way to charge all my gadgets. Which I did. I packed all my gadgets and left for the place where I would charge my phone. On getting there, I realized my phone was blank. I was like, What is going on? This looks like a movie to me. I couldn't figure out what was happening because I was sweating inside the air conditioner. After which I calmed down, I truly realized that my phone was blanked and the screen was not working anymore.

I wasn't happy at all; I was speechless and didn't even know what to say. I was just so angry that I transferred all my aggression to everyone who talked to me at that moment. I later figured out that I put a key in the same place I put my phone, so obviously it was the key that got the screen of the phone damaged. I couldn't even help it. I just left for my house and slept like that.

I would not have been hurt if I were financially stable at the moment. Because I know that the screen of that phone is extremely expensive and quite stressful to get.
A good Samaritan borrowed his phone for a month, and I will be able to get my phone back. At least I can access some things now. But then I missed my phone.

All Images are mine

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now