THRIVING IN SCHOOL ; MASTERING THE ART OF STUDY

I'm one student that doesn't love studying... Seriously, from my primary school level to my secondary school level, I always feel like I can always pass even without reading... And because I knew this, I developed laziness for reading...it was like waste of time to study because with or without study, I will still pass.

pexels-photo-2325729.jpegsource

When I entered secondary school, that was when my eyes opened. The level of teaching in that side was totally different and because of things mentally that I had already, studying was tough for me. And of course, I went to a boarding school throughout my secondary and having studious people around really helped me.

Anytime it was time for prep class, I maximized that time for gossip and gist and our senior students then weren't helping us because they were gossiping too and disturbing, because of this poor study of mine, I had very poor results in my jss1 and jss2 because the environment I was wasn't helping matters, it was part of my failure..
The people around me weren't studious and so I was.....

I realized it myself that I was in the wrong environment, so I begged my parents to change me from that particular secondary school because even the school authority were unserious....
In my jss3, I went to a different school and trust me, it worth it.. I was really excited, There, I learnt a lot of study tips that shaped my life and I will share that with us today.

pexels-photo-249360.jpegsource

       STUDY TIPS

HAVE THE RIGHT STUDY GROUP
it's the right study group that made me study harder and smarter. This is because, anything we study,we ask questions and if you won't want to be embarrassed, you will have to study ahead so that wheΓ± that question is asked you won't look like a dummy that you are... Of course, no intelligent person will want to go hand in hand with someone that doesn't read because you are not helping matters...

When you have study group, it boost you to read, because when you turn and so your reading partners reading And doing well, it will gi her you to sit up.

FIND A GOOD STUDY ENVIRONMENT
Know what works for you when it comes to reading... I can't read in a very noisy environment, my brain won't even capture anything I'm reading, it will be processing what is happening in the background...
I read in a quiet environment and most especially during night time, that's when my brain relax and work perfectly fine... As a student know what work for you.

USE THE RIGHT LEARNING TECHNIQUES
In my first level in university,we were taught the right techniques for effective studying and learning. And there is this particular one that I have been using and it works for me...
After reading, I summarized what I read without looking at the book and the I give myself self quiz this is to help me know my weakness, and then I proceed to teach someone else as a good teacher that I am, by this act, I have successfully retend what I read and study.

THE USE OF PAST QUESTIONS
Though sometimes this method doesn't work, but you see this my university days, past questions really works for us... That doesn't mean you shouldn't study your notes ooooo but at least, have a glance at past questions from different years till dates, it really helps.

ASK QUESTIONS WHEN YOU DON'T KNOW
Most of my coursemates have pride too much, they feel that know it all so They won't want to approach someone to seek help when the don't know something.
If you don't understand what you're reading, if there's difficulties, ask your teachers or lecturers, ask senior students or even your mate... That way it shows you are growing and you will tend to understand better.

SELF CARE IS IMPORTANT
In all of this, don't forget to patronize self care, it's very crucial... Take enough sleep, eat healthy too and don't forget to do frequent exercise. This also helps the mind and brain works faster..
Also have time to play and have fun, we know you're bookworm but please create time for yourself....if you slum because of reading, we will push you aside and continue reading πŸ˜πŸ‘….

Thank you for your my blog

@mmenyene cares β£οΈπŸ’š

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now