ADULTHOOD: SCAM OR WORTH IT

My childhood days was quite interesting and somewhat really comfortable. So comfortable because I am the last child of the family and having 9 good older siblings was indeed an awesome thing that ever happened to me. I was never worried about anything. I didn't use to be involved in cooking, laundry and others chores. My sisters practically made life so comfortable for me that I didn't think anything was going to be my challenge.

IMG_20240414_102511_404.jpg

As I kept growing, I began to feel like I won't be able to make it on my own. I became so afraid to try out things on my own but totally kept depending on my family for everything. Even though I discovered that life is very practical, I could do little to help myself.

As a teenager, I still couldn't cook anything. I ate meals prepared by my mum or elder sisters. The very first time I tried to cook, I ended up making a mess of the meal. I actually was trying to prepare Nigerian Jellof rice but till date, I really can't explain what the meal turned out to be.

Mum always complained about my laundry and always had to redo it for me until I was eighteen.

By the time I was about to leave home for college, I became so afraid of being left by myself. Everyone feared that I was not going to be able to take responsibility for myself and I must confess that I had a hard time adjusting. I had to learn how to be an adult, I had to be mature at all cost.

IMG-20210727-WA0001.jpg

I must say that I became mature as I kept growing into adulthood. When I began to leave alone, I learnt how to do everything I wasn't able to do before and admits all the challenges I had fear for, I enjoy being an adult.

There are definitely lots of things to handle as an adult. The responsibilities are enormous and a lot is expected but I enjoy the sense of independence that comes with adulthood. As an adult, I enjoy being in charge of everything about and around me. I do not have to take permission from Dad, mum or elder siblings before stepping out, wear an outfit, eating, drinking and all that. It feels so good to be in control of my finances and not having to surrender any little money I had as a child to mum. I can practically know how much money I have and what I am spending it on now cause I am old enough to do so.

I have discovered that being an adult isn't as scary as I thought it was. Instead, it is such an awesome experience. I love the adult I have become.

Thank you so much for reading to the end.

I am @marvis

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center