HiveGhana: impact of minimum wage -My Bleeding Pocket!!

Hello Hive-Ghana it's my first time here, hope I'm welcome.😊!

Have you ever had your pocket bleeding? when you work so hard and feel you should have enough to spend but it's not so! this brings me to the issue of;

Nigeria my country, mmmmnnn, a land filled with milk and honey, flothing with abundance of wealth bestowed by the most high God, yet the people suffer in the hands of leaders who would rather loot and keep public resources for yet unborn generations, a lot has been said yet nothing has changed, some fought for this country, lives were lost, we still haven't experienced the change we asked for.

IMG_20240611_115012_049.jpg

sometimes when i see the situation of the country today, I feel like the blood of the people shed during the End Sars protest in the year 2020 and the tears of their loved once is adding to the anguish we are experiencing as of today.

How can a country referred to as the #Giant of Africa still be unsure of the minimum wage after several dialogue with the federal government and the National Labor Congress called N.L.C. It baffles me and goes beyond my imagination, that after a few days strike that has taken the lives of people who couldn't be attended to at the general hospital the government is yet to come to a reasonable agreement as to what the Labourer want.

This topic came in just in time: minimum wage in my country.

Should I start with the fact that the #35000 thirty five thousand naira minimum wage current in use in my country is yet to be paid by some state government all in the name of they can't afford it, yet this are the people building mansions amd receiving millions as their sitting allowance just for a single day. How long do we have to deal with this.

I've never spoken about politics in my country but today, I'll speak my little truth especially with this issue of minimum wage been raised.

Currently the (N.L.C) is proposing a minimum wage of about #400 000 four hundred thousand naira and the government is talking about #62,000 sixty two thousand naira, if you ask me :

I'll say where is the line of agreement between the two proposals, it doesn't even sound like they are ready for a negotiation. After two days strike, five days was given to the federal government and state governments to come to an agreement to a reasonable amount for the Nigerian workers and they couldn't even come up with something at the middle like #200 000 two hundred thousand naira, they are mentioning an amount that is not sufficient to get a bag of rice, I wonder how this people feel families are surviving. We have left the erra of eating to our satisfaction to just put something in to carry you for the day. And our leaders are not bothered.

People rather take a meal per day than eat as many times as possible, how did we get here! The country is bleeding. The last update I got about this minimum wage issue is that the NLC will resume strike after the Salar break if there is no reasonable agreement between them, what about lives at the hospital, what about people that need urgent doctors attention, I think we need a stronger force
IMG_20240423_144606_540.jpg
to correct this issue, just maybe a revolution will do.

*Note that all pictures on this post are mine.

This is my entry for the hive Ghana's contest for the week, thanks for reading through, I'm harvodey.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center