Nowhere to hide.

Who remembered the story about the handwriting on the wall? Yeah, that story where a son failed to learn from his father's experience and tolled the same line as his father, which caused him his life and the kingdom?

Yeah, that's how some people are with red flags. No matter how blinding the color is, they will never learn to walk away.

You see, the thing with red flag is, that's how the person actually is, that's their character and that's their behavioral pattern. A red flag is like a smoke, it cannot be hidden but often times, people just want to be deceived.

An adult in a toxic relationship singing blinding lights will tell you, he will change after marriage, she will change if I do her bidding and be more understanding. No they won't, that's how you end up being used and getting hurt. Fact is, adults rarely change, one can either compromise or walk away. But you see me??? I RUN! Without ever looking back.

I use to always tell my friends and whoever cares to listen that, when in any form of relationship, pay attention to how people treat you, their actions and not their words.

I hate lies and manipulation, that's like the most paramount red flag for me. Why do you have to be deceitful? People often say the truth is a bitter pill to swallow hence the lie, but how about you actually let me be the judge of that?

Do you know how annoying and hurtful it is to find out something you thought to be true was only a comforting lie? Or going all out for someone only to find out that you've been deceived?

Sha, like I said, I will always run away the moment I see the tip of the red flag. I shall not be sticking around until it becomes full-blown because one gutter behavior is an invitation to several other character ills. People are always rating how they treat you from your reaction to their actions.

One time, I went on a lunch date with a talking stage. I am a very chatty person and trust me to ask a lot of incriminating and detective questions.

First thing I noticed was that my date had his arms folded the whole time we were seated.

When it was time to place order for our meal, I asked him what he's getting, and he asked I go ahead to order that he basically tasted everything on the menu as that's his joint for lunch break.

Food came and as I ate, we conversed. We talked about work, friendship, family then our love life. That was when he got carried away, he was giving me a gist that happened between him and his wife.

I didn't know he was married as he conveniently left his wife out of every conversation we've had.

But when the gist entered his head, that was what blew his cover as he mistakenly said "my wif...."

He paused, took a deep breath, exhaled shaperly, untucked his arms to reveal his wedding band, then continued with his gist, "you know my wife one time... Then paused again and said, I'm yeah? I have a wife."

I looked at him, looked at the wedding band on his finger, then looked at him again and smiled, knowing within me that he is never seeing me again.

ALL IMAGES ARE MINE

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments