Sometimes We Just Need To Hold On A Little Longer

Life they say is full of lessons, right from when we were born till the very end. We will continue to learn one or two lessons. And this lesson has a way of shaping who we are, our thoughts, and most times the extent we will go in life.

I have had some life lessons to share right from when I was younger to this very moment. However, in this week's contest from the @hiveghana community, I will be talking about something I learned a long-time ago which has helped me to be better, never to give up on my dreams, and continue to push harder even if things get tough.

A life lesson I would like to share is about endurance and how it shaped who I'm today.

photo-1619384259054-ee3ce9d1798c.jpeg

It all started in 2015 when my auntie advised me to go for skill acquisition. I have a passion for fashion so I decided to go into fashion designing.

I acquired my skill under a very gentle man. Where I met four apprentices that made me the fifth apprentice. This man will take his time to explain everything to the apprentice. He also gave us time to ask him questions if there was anything we didn't understand, which made it easier for me to learn faster. after 6 months I decided to change because of the distance and it was stressing me

photo-1597484662003-7cf93e97447c.jpeg

I had to change to a female fashion designer close by, where I met 15 apprentices and I was the 16th apprentice. There I have to do a lot of house chores. We work for her both in the house and at the fashion house. She would bring clothes from her house to the shop for us to wash, sometimes it could be bed sheets and even bed sheets stained with menstruation blood, sounds irritating right?

Aside from this, she doesn't usually give us the needed attention and time. She was a teacher that made her visit the fashion house by 3 o'clock at noon when she closed from work. At one point, I had to tell her I could not continue to wash her clothes or tolerate her way of training us.

Annoyed by what I just told her, she told me that I could go if I wanted to leave but I would have to forfeit my registration money. This left me with just two choices, succumb to her bidding of doing tedious work for her or forget my registration fee and possibly get discouraged to start from somewhere else because I may not be able to afford any money for fresh registration to start again.

After giving it a long thought, I decided to endure. Though her method of training us, it was difficult to learn under her, my determination outweighed every obstacle trying to stop me.

I stayed put, put in all my effort, and in the end, my aim was achieved. I gained the fashiodesignns knowledge I needed. And up till today I'm proud I never gave up.

Most times in our life journey, obstacles will come to discourage us from our goals and dreams but if we know how to hold on and just endure a little while longer we stand a greater chance of always winning.

Image 1 source, Image 2 source

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now