Overrated Food || African Salad

Image

I am a person who absolutely love food a lot. I love everything about Food. I like eating it, cooking it, talking about it, reading about it, shopping about it and watching people making it. I started cooking when I was 10 years old and even till now I still love cooking. I have so many reasons to love food, it keep us alive, it's delicious, it tastes and smile nice, it keep us satisfied, and it's comes in different forms, shape and colors. They can be eaten raw, cooked or processed. Without food, we would not be able to survive and stay healthy.

Well, I'm not someone that needed to lose weight or gain weight, but I didn't just eat any kind of food, I love to choose my food based on their nutritional values, and their tastes not based on their look or appearances. There are some food that I don't like eating and those kind of food are what I see as my overrated food. Although, most people sit down and enjoy it but I never see any special about those food. One of these food, is African Salad also known as Abacha.

Abacha is a local food that is commonly consumed in the Southern (Igbo) part of Nigeria. it's look like salad that is why it is called African Salad. Abacha can be derived from a cassava tuber. This cassava tuber took some long processing after harvesting to extract the cassava flakes called Abacha. The cassava tuber is first washed, peeled and then boiled. After that, they are cut into fine thinning pieces and then soaked it inside a water for a day. The following day the fermented cassava is being washed thoroughly before sun drying the flakes naturally for more than 3days or until it's completely dried.

The first time I tasted African salad was during my NYSC day which I had in Abia state, Nigeria. During that time, I noticed that my colleague loved eating it, I always thought their is something special about the food. So I decided to try it out one day. The very first spoon that went into my mouth came back out with the same speed with which it entered. It was too tasteless, and smell somehow bad. I still didn't understand how people enjoyed eating it. Since that day, I didn't tried to eat it again.

Abacha is high in carbohydrates, which is one of the main reasons why I hate it and it's not well process or fully cooked. I see Nothing special about this food called Abacha, I didn't care how they garnished it, as far I'm concern, Abacha is an overrated food.

This is my response to the question asked for @Hiveghana prompt week 52.

Thanks for your time on my blog.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center