Morning Run - Virtual Standalone

I just finished a 10.585km running that lasted about 0hh:58mm:51ss !

image

I have done the Standalone Farm 10k several times, but this year it was run as a virtual race where people could do their own route whilst still contributing to the charity and could buy a shirt. The shirts usually have 'Run together, Standalone', but this time it says 'Run alone, Standalone'. Well I did not run alone. Through our local runners group on FB I found a guy Stuart who was up for doing it with me. We had not met before. We arranged to meet at 8am this morning and he was right on time, having run from the north end of Arlesey.

We set off at a fairly good pace. We chatted for quite a lot of the run and I could just about manage that. We could have possibly gone a bit quicker, but I was not too worried about the time. Stuart is a little younger than me with young kids. I think he has done more running than me, but he seemed happy with the pace. It was quite cool out there, but I was okay in the race shirt I picked up yesterday. We did a variation of my Sunday loop that I had checked for distance. It was fairly quiet out there and I think we was hardly any other runners. There was one guy going the other way as we had nearly finished who was also wearing the race shirt. We also saw a dog I had seen before that has wheels for its back half.

The 10km time was by no means my quickest, but it was a bit quicker than I might have done on my own, so I am happy with it. I beat one personal segment record according to Strava. I have logged my time on the race site and so there should be a set of results when they have given people a chance to run over the next couple of weeks. It did not have to be today.

I do not do a lot of organised races, apart from parkrun, but I still miss them. There is something about running with a mass of people. It pushes you to do more than you thought you could. It may be next year before I get that experience again. In the meantime I will keep training in hope of new achievements.

Run free and stay well.

image

Check out some detailed info at my EXHAUST page
Join me in testing out EXHAUST!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency