Playing slowly is difficult! (Bach, Agnus Dei from Hohe Messe, BWV 232

A few weeks ago I uploaded a recording of the transcription I made of the Agnus Dei from Bach's Hohe Messe, BWV 232 (see here: @primalamusica/johann-sebastian-bach-agnus-dei-from-hohe-messe-bwv-232).

I wasn't entirely satisfied by this performance. The organ model I played it on, wasn't perhaps the best possible choice for the work, the registration didn't sound as good as I hoped it would, but most and for all, I thought I played it too fast.

So I decided to record it again, on another organ model and play it more slowly.

thumbYT.png

That turned out to be quite difficult to do. As counter intuitive as it may sound: playing slowly is difficult. I had a hard time keeping the pace steady and to prevent myself from slipping back in the faster tempo of the first video. I made several recordings and none of them were to my liking.

I had to resort to playing with a metronome. My old metronome doesn't work any more, but that isn't a problem. The are a lot of apps available that turn a smart phone into a metronome. And with my phone loudly ticking I played the Agnus Dei again and again, until I was more or less sure I would not again slip back into the tempo of the first recording.

So, here it is. I like this one better than the first recording. I hope you do too.

The recording was done with the Hauptwerk software and the sampleset, made by Sonus Paradisi, of the Bader organ in the Walburgiskerk, Zutphen (https://www.sonusparadisi.cz/en/organs/netherlands/zutphen-virtual-organ-model.html).

Score available here: http://partitura.org/index.php/johann-sebastian-bach-agnus-dei-hohe-messe-bwv-232

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center