gribbles record collection listening chain #4

Bit longer gap than I intended between the last one and this. I assume everyone will have forgotten all about what this is, so a quick reminder of what these posts are all about...

My record collection listening chain is a series of occasional posts working through my 7" single collection (and maybe other records as well). The general idea is that I started by posting about the first record in my collection, then asked readers to reply with a random number from 1 to 100. I would then choose someone at random, and count on from the last record posted about by the number they have chosen and post about that record. Then we'll rinse and repeat until we get bored! I was rewarding the lucky winner with some SBI, but think I'll keep that a bit simpler (and more sustainable for me 😉) by delegating 100 HP. I'm going to aim to do these fortnightly from here on in, so that's 100HP for two weeks (minimum). If these get more popular, then I may up that, but we'll see...


So. Without further ado, the person randomly chosen from those who left a number in the last post was @edje, who chose 42. I'll delegate the HP as soon as I've posted this...

And the record that is 42 on from Ray Charles in my collection is People are People by Depeche Mode.

IMG_3543.jpeg

Depeche Mode have a strange place in my musicography. I have loved pretty much everything they have done - especially back in the day. But I never owned any music by them. Most of my DM stuff are records I've acquired since I started buying them again. And I have no idea why that is!

IMG_3544.jpeg

They seldom put a foot wrong, and Violator is simply an immense album. But I don't own a copy. Peculiar.

IMG_3545.jpeg

And talking of peculiar, the video for People Are People is downright strange. Just the mix of images - battleships, the DM boys pulling levers and spinning wheels in what looks like a museum ship, shots of record pressing plants, paratroopers. Weird.

But it is a cracking song.

So. No big anecdotes from me this time (apart from the DM shaped hole in my old music collection).


If you want to join in and be in with the chance of me delegating some HP to you for a couple of weeks, then all you have to do is reply to this with a random number between 1 and 100. I'll choose someone at random in 2 weeks and we'll count on from People are People by the amount chosen.

Tell you what - as an extra bonus if you're a Rising Star player, I'll chuck in an instrument card as well. could be anything. Except a production card, 'cos that's what I collect 😆
If you're not a Rising Star player, you're missing out - join in the fun by joining up here


Previous records from the collection...

#3 - The Authentic Ray Charles ep
#2 - Old Red Eyes Is Back
#1 - Take a Chance on Me


One of the best ways you can help indie musicians like me - should you want to - is to share our music. Posting on Twitter and in Facebook groups is great, liking and sharing anywhere is super, and liking tunes & following artists on Spotify, YouTube and other streaming services all help to feed the algorithm and raises the chance of our stuff being noticed and seen by others. Thanks!

Find gribbles in other places --> https://flow.page/gribbles

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
28 Comments
Ecency