gribbles record collection listening chain #1

This is my record (and whisky) collection.

IMG_3115.JPG

On the top are little crates of 7" singles (though there are more in boxes around the house). The top 2 rows are LPs, and the bottom row is 12" singles.

I thought it may be fun for us to explore my collection together. Rather than me just randomly choose a disc, if folk reply with a random number from 1-100, I'll jump ahead in my collection by that many, then post about that record. when I'm going to do another post, I'll choose a reply at random, and as a thank you for joining in I'll donate 5 Hive SBI to the poster. (Who knows, this may end up being a Musicforlife tribe token in the future....πŸ˜‰)

To keep it easy, I'll limit it to my 7"/12" singles to start with.

So, to get the ball rolling - shall we start with the first single I ever bought?

ABBA - Take A Chance On Me

abbamin_orig.png

From an early age music was a thing for me. Then in 1978 I was shopping in Scunthorpe with my Mum. We were in Woolworths, and she gave me enough money to buy a single. Not really knowing what to buy, and faced with so much choice, I chose what was Number 1 at the time. Abba - Take A Chance On Me. Now, for anyone who may be sniggering at the back - I was 10 or 11 and excited to be able to buy a record of my own.

However. Check out the b-side, I’m A Marionette - it's a cracking tune. (OK, I may have rationalised the latter after the fact - but it’s a tune. Really must sample that bass.)

There y'go. The first record I ever bought with 'my own' money. I'm not saying all my singles have a story attached - but I'll try 😜

So - if you liked this, and are interested to see what else lurks in my collection, reply with a random number from 1 - 100. I'll post again in a few days...


My name is gribbles. In my spare time I make music. I'd love you to take a listen - if you fancy it, here's a link to some gribblystuff --> https://www.flow.page/gribbles

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
27 Comments
Ecency