Celldweller: going back to the early 2000s

         When it comes to music, I'll be the first to admit that videogames tend to influence my choices. Part of me hold the classic tunes that (almost) everyone knows like Super Mario sacred to my heart. Okay, that's a bit of an exaggeration. The point is that I tend to pick songs based on the games I've heard them from versus following a specific artist.

         It sounds limiting until you've played games such as Bioshock (2007) and Fallout (1997). Those series happen to use songs from actual artists pasts. Would you believe me if I said Fallout: New Vegas got me into some Frank Sinatra?

         In some ways, videogames are a medium to bring some culture into their players if the dev team chooses.

         The other day, I came across this song on one of my YouTube recommendations:

         I sort of remember the song. Then, it took me a little bit before realizing where I heard it from. Turned out, this particular Celldweller song was in one of the boss fights in Dead Rising 2 (2010). That brought back memories. The over-the-top action horror coupled with insane scenarios.

         Then, the magic of algorithm brought me to this:

         Okay, I never thought it was possible to go no damage on those bosses, let alone doing it while unarmed. Now, knowing the lyrics of the song, I can't help but have mixed feelings.

         Does it capture the insanity of the game's premise? Or, are we having some screamo for the sake of having it? It seems to go much deeper than that. At any rate, I am having a good time exploring Celldweller's works, even if years later than most people.

         Circle back to my original point: videogames definitely shaped my taste in music.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center