"This is the Forest Primeval"...Longfellow Reimagined in My Collage for LMAC #176

176z.png

This collage represents my response to the template photo in Round #176 of LMAC's Collage Contest.

As I worked with the template, a dramatic photo by @shaka, I thought of Longfellow's (Henry Wadsworth Longfellow) epic poem, Evangeline: A Tale of Acadia.

Template by @shaka
JHGBLFd - Imgur.jpg

The first lines of that poem stayed with me when I first read them. Excerpts here are taken from Poets.org, where the poem may be read in its entirety.

This is the forest primeval. The murmuring pines and the hemlocks,
Bearded with moss, and in garments green, indistinct in the twilight

I had the poem in mind as I designed my collage. The poem tells of two lovers who lived in Acadia. The governor of the province (which is in Nova Scotia) demanded that the Acadians swear allegiance to the British Crown and forsake their Catholic faith. Because many of them refused to do this, they were shipped off, from Canada to the Gulf Coast of the U.S. There, in the swamps and forests of Louisiana, the Acadians were forced to find their way.

Far asunder, on separate coasts, the Acadians landed;
Scattered were they, like flakes of snow, when the wind from the northeast
Strikes aslant through the fogs that darken the Banks of Newfoundland.
Friendless, homeless, hopeless, they wandered from city to city,

The tragedy of the poem is that, the people were forced to leave everything behind and families were torn asunder. This was true for Evangeline and her lover, Gabriel.

Evangeline wanders the forests and swamps her whole life, as she looks for Gabriel.

Thus did the long sad years glide on, and in seasons and places
Divers and distant far was seen the wandering maiden;

In the end, she finds Gabriel on his deathbed and gets to say her farewell. He also has searched for her his whole life. Evangeline dies soon after.

Still stands the forest primeval; but far away from its shadow,
Side by side, in their nameless graves, the lovers are sleeping.
Under the humble walls of the little Catholic churchyard,
In the heart of the city, they lie, unknown and unnoticed.

Is the story of Evangeline true? It is certainly a legend that has been handed down through the generations. It represents the suffering of the Acadians as they are exiled from their home and in many cases, their families.

If you'd like to read more about the legend, here is a link:
https://www.lafayettetravel.com/explore/legend-of-evangeline/

Elements Used in the Collage
I thank each contributor for helping me to 'say' what I wanted in my collage.

From Pixabay
CreationEffects

tama66

From Unsplash
Georg Eierman

From the LMAC Image Gallery, LIL

@muelli

@seckorama

@rappler

@yaziris

@redheadpei

@victor8

@borjan

@eimy7

And three elements were contributed by me, to LIL
@agmoore

Each LIL contributor will receive 2% from my post, as a token of gratitude. I had too many beneficiaries, so I will send @rappler his token when the post pays out.

LMAC and LIL

Every week is an adventure. This week I was prompted to look back at a poem I fell in love with as a high school student. It's a wonderful experience when two art forms--poetry and collage--come together. I hope my readers enjoy the story of Evangeline and perhaps will check out this very long, but memorable poem.

Please check out the LMAC curation feed to see the amazing works or art that the community artists have created.

Everyone who competes is a winner (I don't compete), but the Hive community selects the official winners. This week's roster of winners may be viewed here. All of Hive can vote in the contest.

Tomorrow a new template will be published. Make a collage and join in the fun.

You can see that LIL, the LMAC Image Library, was an essential part of my collage creating process this week. Everyone on Hive can contribute to the library and everyone can borrow from the library. Learn about the procedure here.

I wish all my readers peace and health.

Thank you for reading my blog

Hive on

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center