The Chemistry of Colour 色の科学 [English and Japanese]

IMG_9194.jpeg

The Chemistry of Colour

I went for a long walk in the nearest park with my dog and husband the other day. It was a pretty chill afternoon, and a nice autumn day. We briefly saw only two other people as they left at the entrance, so most of the time, it was just us, surrounded by nature.

My dog was as excited and happy as usual. Even though we didn’t see any other dogs at the park, my dog could smell and sense their presence.

IMG_9201.jpeg

The park was filled with vividly colourful fallen leaves and mushrooms. I had recently been reading about the chemistry of colour, and it was fascinating. According to the article, chlorophyll is deeply connected to the colour of green tree leaves. When the chlorophyll declines, other pigments become more visible. Hmm… it’s such an interesting scientific explanation. I guess that’s why autumn colours are so vibrant.

IMG_9195.jpeg

This leaf, with its tie-dye pattern of green and red, is very cool, isn’t it? It looked like a Halloween decoration.

IMG_9202.jpeg

One leaf was red and yellow with green polka dots.

IMG_9203.jpeg

Another was green and red again. I was amazed by how vivid the green looked, even more than in summer. Maybe because there’s less green in the autumn park, it stands out more.

IMG_9199.jpeg

I love this photo! When I tried to capture a red maple leaf floating on the lake, the reflection of the sky, clouds, and sun looked like they melted into the water. Yellow leaves were visible just below the surface of the lake.

IMG_9196.jpeg

A fresh mushroom had sprouted beneath the moss, looking like a tiny umbrella.

IMG_9197.jpeg

I also spotted white mushrooms growing on a birch tree.

IMG_9198.jpeg

Then, there were four mushrooms shooting up together from the ground, covered in pine needles. I love walking on pine needles. They’re so soft.

IMG_9200.jpeg

My dog looked so content near the lake. I hope we can go back there again soon!

IMG_2655.png
Japanese 日本語

IMG_9194.jpeg

色の科学

先日、家からいちばん近い公園に主人といっしょに犬の散歩に行きました。秋の陽気が心地よく、まったりと過ごせる午後でした。公園の入り口のところで一瞬他の散歩者を見かけましたが、公園内はほとんどの時間私たちだけでした。

私の犬はいつものごとく興奮してハッピーでした。この日は他の犬を見かけることがありませんでしたが、匂いや気配を感じていたようです。

IMG_9201.jpeg

公園内には色鮮やかな落ち葉やキノコであふれかえっていました。少し前に色の科学についての記事を読みました。たいへん興味深かったです。その記事によると、クロロフィルの成分は木々の葉の緑色と深く関係しているそうです。クロロフィルの量が減ると、他の色合いが目立つそうです。ふーむ…、科学的な説明はとてもおもしろいですね。だから秋の色はとてもカラフルなのですね。

IMG_9195.jpeg

このタイダイ柄のような緑と赤の葉っぱはとても素敵ですよね〜。まるでハロウィンの飾りつけのようです。

IMG_9202.jpeg

こちらの葉っぱは赤と黄色に緑色の水玉模様が入っています。

IMG_9203.jpeg

別の葉っぱはまた緑と赤です。こんなに緑色が目立つだなんて、夏以上に緑に感じます。おそらく秋の公園内には緑色が少なくなってきたので、余計に緑色がひきたって見えるのでしょう。

IMG_9199.jpeg

この写真はお気に入りです!湖の上に浮かんでいた真っ赤な楓の落ち葉の写真を撮ろうと思っていると、空と雲と太陽が湖面に反射して水の中に溶け込んでいるように写りました。黄色の落ち葉が水面下にあるのも見えます。

IMG_9196.jpeg

新鮮なキノコが苔の間から飛び出ていました。小さな傘のように見えます。

IMG_9197.jpeg

白樺の木の上には白いキノコが生えています。

IMG_9198.jpeg

そして、こちらには4本のキノコが松葉でおおわれた地面からいっしょに突き出ていました。松葉の上を歩くのはとてもやわらかくて気持ちがいいです。

IMG_9200.jpeg

私の犬は湖の横で満足げです。また近々行きたいです!

IMG_2655.png

Thank you for reading!
お読みいただきありがとうございます。

IMG_0998.jpeg
https://koto-art.wixsite.com/mysite-1

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center