RE: RE: Hive, Steem, Twitter, Facebook
You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hive, Steem, Twitter, Facebook

RE: Hive, Steem, Twitter, Facebook

Granted certainly. I don’t disagree with that this post is a cannon ball into the pool... but I do believe that the differentiation of comment responses.... that’s a very unfriendly approach to dealing with a problem. Why dampen some comments while preserving (amplifying others?)

I believe my comment was quite constructive was it not?

Having an extreme way of handling things isn’t always the best way... and then to sift and sort which comments are the ones you want to “feature”... Well! That’s going to rub a lot of people the wrong way don’t you think?

If you want people to think well of OCD and how they handle “drama posts”, as you call them, wouldn’t it would be better not to cause unnecessary drama yourself?

Picking through the comments to select who is muted and who is not achieves just that. Drama where there doesn’t need to be!

Every single active account has been tagged unnecessarily in this post.

Do we not all get the opportunity or have the right to respond and be heard?

You can see how this might be a problematic response to an already dramatic situation.

In all fairness... if this post is a “problem” and comments within that post are a “problem” the worst thing you can do is pick selectively which ones get heard and which ones don’t.

Wouldn’t it be better to mute ALL comments rather than only some?

Besides this... isn’t the word “dramatic” subjective?

Having a policy like this becomes quicksand pretty quick when you begin to mute only some people’s voices within the offending post.

I can understand having the ability to mute a post within a specified community... but some comments and not others acidyo?! Really!? Come on... 😳

P.S. Thank you @themarkymark for your responses even though you weren’t a part of this problem. I do appreciate your input and assistance. I have yet to really dig into who’s running what community here on the blockchain. Guess I’m going to spend some time doing that.

P.S.S. Hi @Peakd @jarvie. Thank you for taking the time to read and respond. As developers I realize just how busy you must be and I want you to know how much I appreciate all that you are doing to make Hive a better and more flourishing social environment! Your doing outstanding work!

Could you please take these comments and this specific situation as some feedback about communities having the ability to mute selected comments. Perhaps... (and this is a BIG perhaps!) it may be better if they had the ability to only dim a selected post. (And ALL comments) rather than the ability to pick through which comments they want to dim and which they want to amplify.

I bring this up because I believe that Hive is in the middle of a lot of internal conflict... right now outside eyes are looking in and deciding if they want to #JoinUP.

We want to continue to encourage (via community lead efforts as well as structural functionality/intelligent design) Hive to be a friendly and welcoming place to continue inviting our friends, family, and famous.

If we are having a lot of internal strife... we have our eye off the ball and that hurts Hive in so many ways! Externally getting the word out is short circuited.

I, for example, over the past 2 weeks have been putting our unfriendly fires right left and center. This his limited my ability to do my usual spreading of Good Wil 😉 on Twitter.

Right now I am in the middle of speaking with the Exodus Team. @Hiro-Hive and I have mentioned Hive in my recent #Lemonpreneur tweet that links back to @threespeak.

I have to say... it’s recently been difficult to focus on promoting Hive externally on the social2.0’s while internally unfriendly fires are burning... on my doorstep. 😳

As you can see... I care a great deal about the overall health and well-being of Hive and being an owner (along with everyone else) I really do want to see it succeed and people to #Win in every way.

Hive has the potential to enrich people’s lives and lifestyles not just with financial capital... but also, primarily, with social capital.

I do believe even little design features, like the one we have been discussing, can matter and do make a difference in how we human with each other here on Hive.

I hope that my words are taken as constructive feedback as I love @PeakD as much as I love Hive and it’s community’s.

@wil.metcalfe

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center