RE: RE: Do you beat your child? What best way can I instill discipline in my child?
You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do you beat your child? What best way can I instill discipline in my child?

RE: Do you beat your child? What best way can I instill discipline in my child?

Both my parents are Christian, and I believe they raised me extremely well. They occasionally gave my siblings and I 'spankings' as a last resort (usually with a wooden spoon, and just on the palm of our hands). They only ever did it when they were calm, and out of discipline and love, never in anger.

That said, was it the right thing to do? Who knows. I turned out great, in my opinion, but it's possible there was a better way.

I guess my point is, I do my best to avoid judging others, and to make the best choices I'm able, moment to moment.

These:

  • Instructing and rebuking
  • Reiteration of said instructions
  • Positive reinforcement
  • Ultimatums
  • Trainings that engender longer attention span and meditation
  • Withdrawal of gifts and privileges for a period of time

Are all preferable to any kind of physicality, I'd imagine, but does that mean my parents occasional wooden-spoon tactic was 'wrong'? I'm not sure anyone can say.

Anyway, great post, lots of food for thought, thank you. 🙏

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now