Share the etiquette of communication between people in China

I would like to share some Chinese social etiquette and some examples in the communication process with other people.


Scene 1: respectful title

We also call unfamiliar strangers differently.

Example 1:If the person looks older than me, if it's a man, I call him brother or uncle, if it's a woman, I call him sister or aunt.If it is an older man, we call him grandpa, if it is an older woman, we call her grandma. For those who are younger than us or the same age as us, we prefer to call them by their real names.

For foreign friends, the first time we call each other is based on gender. Boys are called Mr. and girls are called Ms. If you can’t meet the real person, you may only be able to judge by the avatar.

Analysis:
For people of different age groups, we will have some honorifics that match their age groups. We will not call them by their names directly. This would be very impolite and also arouse their disgust. This is called respect in our etiquette. Those who are older than us are collectively called elders. There is a Chinese saying called "respect the old and love the young." This "zun" means respect, and the honorific title given to them represents respect.

The elders can call us by our names directly, which seems to us to be a matter of course.

For boys or girls of the same age, we communicate with each other by directly calling each other's names.


Scene 2: Introducing new friends to friends

When we make introductions, we always use complimentary words to describe others

Example 1: I have a very beautiful friend with a very good figure. I have time to introduce you to her.
Example 2: I have a friend who is very good at painting. I would like to introduce you to him when I have time.
Example 3: I have a very good friend who played in college. He is very friendly and has time to introduce you to each other.

Analysis ①:
These introductions will all focus on certain characteristics of this person.

In fact, in the eyes of Chinese people, this is a compliment to my friend, and it also expresses that the friend has some attractive characteristics. When Chinese people introduce friends to each other, no one will directly introduce their academic qualifications and what kind of work they do. In the eyes of Chinese people, these details can only be answered after basic familiarity with them. This requires separate communication between old and new friends. If you introduce these specific details directly, Information will make the introducer feel uncomfortable and make the introducer feel like he is inquiring. It will also make the person being introduced feel: I don’t want to know that much, why should you introduce it to me?

Analysis ②:
This friend may not be here when we say these words, but we say we have time to introduce you to him.

This time can be divided into two situations:

  1. Refers to the situation when the three of us are present,Introduce you to each other
  2. When the person being introduced needs help from the introducer, we will introduce him by phone or message.

Scene 3: Express gratitude

When we express gratitude, we don’t say thank you to those close to us

Example 1: My sister has to deal with her own affairs and cannot take care of her child. She asked me to spend a day with the child, including eating, drinking water and playing with toys with him. When I finished taking care of her, my sister will only ask me whether my child is obedient, whether he has eaten, etc. My sister will not say, "Thank you, brother, for helping me take care of my child."

Analysis:
In Chinese etiquette, if you say thank you to someone close to you, it will make the other person feel alienated and not treat the other person as one of your own, which will make the other person feel uncomfortable. In the eyes of the Chinese, we are family, because I know We will help each other, blood is thicker than water more than anything else.

For people other than family members, such as friends and store staff, we still want to say thank you if they help you, because our relationship is not as close as family members. Saying thank you expresses our gratitude for the other person's help.


The above cases briefly introduce the daily etiquette of Chinese people. I wonder if you who are reading this article have different ideas, or what some etiquette in your country is like. We can communicate in the comment area.

If I have the opportunity, I will continue to share about Chinese etiquette. I think it will be interesting.


If you enjoyed this article please Upvote, Relay, and Follow me @pingcastle

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center