Meet OCD's Curators & Community Leaders #3

For the last four years, OCD has been curating daily undervalued content in the chain. The project adapts and strives to the changes in the blockchain. We continue to grow and keep the project fresh with new ideas by bringing in passionate curators and, in recent addition, community leaders.

From OCD daily curation, community incubation program, and Posh curation, one of the common factors to make all this happen is our curator's and community leaders' involvement.

As a part of appreciating their time and effort, we will highlight our OCD curators and the community leaders. By highlighting them, we invite you to meet and learn about the folks behind OCD & the community leaders supported in the incubation program.

You can check their profile and give them a follow, but please do not direct message them with a link to your post. The curators and community leaders are constantly browsing the chain and the community to find your content. Hence, as an author, keep focusing on creating quality content and engaging in the community you prefer.



OCD Curators & Community leaders

@traciyork

I'm a former homeschooling mom (our youngest turns 21 at the end of this month) who has been writing, blogging, and taking pictures for a bazillion years or so. I married my best friend back in '89 and while I've held a number of different jobs during my fifty-five years on this earth (armed security guard, office manager, and castle tour guide, for example) the past couple of decades have been devoted almost solely to raising our three kids. I grew up in Gloucester, Massachusetts but we now live just over an hour away in the seacoast area of New Hampshire.

I was introduced to the Hive blockchain (back when it had a different name) thanks to a shoutout from @pixelfan over on Ello in the fall of 2017. I'd been trying for many years to figure out a way to monetize my WordPress blog, while working on building an audience for my scribblings & shutterbugging. It took a bit to get into the swing of things, but once I figured it out, I was hooked!

Because of the aforementioned scribblings, I've spent thousands of years a great deal of time on Twitter, connecting with people in the #WritingCommunity as well as others in the Twitterverse. Then while waiting on that fateful day (March 20th, 2020) for the Hive Blockchain to generate its first block, I decided to create a Twitter account devoted entirely to sharing Hive content & other related tweets. At the end of January 2021, my #HiveTwitter cheerleading somehow came to the attention of @acidyo and @ybanezkim26 who then graciously offered me the opportunity to join the Twitter-PoSH curation team.

As I understand it, the general idea of the Twitter-PoSH (Proof of SHaring) community, as with all the PoSH focused things, is to share Hive content elsewhere on the interwebz, to get eyes from outside Hive on our content and content creators, with the goal of generating interest & getting new users to sign up.

Since I didn't start it and I've only been curating for a little under two months, that's kinda tough to answer. However I will say I've been noticing that Hivers are slowly starting to get better at using attention-getting tags when sharing their links on Twitter, which is wicked encouraging! While eventually (especially with Project Blank on the horizon) Twitter will cease to be a necessary evil, in the meantime it's awesome to see people using it effectively, and you never know who's eye you might catch.

I would really like to see Hive recognized as the answer to almost all the problems of centrally controlled social media platforms. While mass adoption would most likely be good for the price of Hive, I really think the monetization is secondary to the beauty and freedom of owning your online content, rather than being controlled and manipulated by Big Tech.


@minismallholding

I'm @minismallholding and my Hive journey started in 2017 as a way to share my journey growing food in our home gardens and raising poultry. The homesteading community I connected with and connecting with other Hivers in my home state are what kept me coming back. So I realised the importance of communities soon on as a way of retaining users. Over time I've found less time for writing as I've spent more time curating helping others thrive on here.

Could you please tell us about the community you manage and/or are interested in curating?

I started my journey with communities helping with curating and creating the homesteading newsletter for @homesteaderscoop, which has now migrated to @naturalmedicine. There had been a void for some time for a home education community, which didn't seem like it would be filled if I didn't step up, so with the experience gained from helping at @naturalmedicine, I bit the bullet and started @HomeEdders. Then for some strange reason I then decided to do something for Stock Images, because again, no-one else seemed to be doing it. This is curated from the @hive-118554 account.

While @HomeEdders was slow to start we had a very supportive group of people behind it. Not surprisingly, the current world situation has brought more people in, but those who stay regularly are the long term homeschoolers. It's been a pleasure to see new people coming in all the time, starting on their journey and the support which comes from the more seasoned homeschoolers.

The original idea for Stock Images was just to have a place where Hive artists could drop images they were happy for other Hivers to use and for those needing to use an image to see what was available. This way we could promote and reward image creators on Hive instead of on other sites. The response and requests to evolve this into something more have lead to the creation of indexes and curation posts. Thankfully @crosheille came quickly to my aid and recently we've been joined by @pavanjr too as the community has grown at a rapid pace.

I look forward to a day when having a crypto account is as normal as having a bank account and as I think Hive is the easiest place for the novice to start, I hope to see mass uptake.

I am currently happy with how @HomeEdders is progressing and how people are able to learn more about home education in action. I don't really have many more aspirations there.

With Stock Images I'm hoping to see more uptake in using #hivestockimages, so that one day the source links won't lead to another website, but will instead credit a Hive account name.


@roadstories

My name is Jonathan Villarroel, I am 27 years old, I have a degree in Public Accounting. I met this world of blockchain (steemit) in 2017 thanks to a friend from university. I had economic problems and depression, so she recommended me to access. The truth is that I am very grateful, because this has been rewarding in every way. A few months later I was able to start my adventure as a curator of important communities, and discover things about myself that I didn't know. In addition to this, I met many people who have been very helpful both financially and for my existential problem, I have been fortunate throughout my career in Steemit and what today has become Hive.

I like literature very much, especially poetry, but in Hive I could develop a desire for photography, even thanks to the economic benefits I could buy a professional camera, which I paid with Hive (token).

Most of the time I've been at Hive has been as a curator, however, many people pushed me to create a mobile gaming community, as we spent a lot of time playing together. There were no big expectations in terms of growth, there never really was, we just wanted to have a space for ourselves and we achieved that.

However, that was the beginning of wanting to have more responsibilities as a "leader" of a possible community. It was then when the Hive Pets Community was born, from the ideas of my friends in OCD, I wanted to take the leadership. After 3 months since Hive pets was founded, we already have almost 1000 subscribers, and we have been positioned several times in the top of the communities, it's great, and I think it's a pride for the Hive pets team, as well as for all our content creators. It's great to have the support of the OCD incubation project.

Since learning about, and witnessing all the work being done at OCD to ensure that all communities are included and benefit, I have been hopeful that all existing Hive curation projects will be adapted to this type of system. The leaders within Hive know the potential that this has, and as an OCD curator I know the potential that this community has in General. The well-being of Hive collectively should be a goal for everyone, and it is something that OCD is somewhat realizing.

This very system helps us to improve our work as curators, and it is important for the Hive ecosystem that we are all involved in rating content, diversifying the vote and sanctioning content that is plagiarism or abuse. Without looking over an APR or return on earnings (which is a valid and free choice), however curation with or without a return, should be clean and accurate.


@crazy-andy

My real name is Andraž, for which you probably didn't hear yet, so I rather name myself Andy here on Hive. I added the adjective crazy as I used to be crazy (in a good way), but now I am having a lovely family with one almost two years old boy and 8 months pregnant wife. We are expecting a girl this time. Otherwise I joined Steem Hive on January 2018 and I am enjoying it from that day on, but I dedicated much more time through last year as pandemic hit tourism industry hard and I am the (un)lucky guy who is working in a hotel. Meaning I am mostly waiting on work at home for 1 year right now. Everything is good for something I often say and this is the case with pandemic and my Hive growth.
Ohhhhh and I am a bit older than the photo shows as this one is from 6 years ago :)
I don’t like to be on the other side of the camera and decided to share a photo where I won’t be in the center of attention :)

I try to be as active as I can in Photography Lovers community and all other photography and travel communities I know here on Hive. If you will post in Photography Lovers community, you can be sure I will click on your post and I will review it. If you will put extra effort in your publication, you can also be sure that this effort will sooner or later be recognized by our curation team and rewarded with generous @ocd support. Good work always pays off.

I am really happy to be part of the team and I am honored that our leader @derangedvisions invited me in half a year ago and also that fellow curator @castleberry warmly welcomed me so we are working as a great team. I only started to know curation on Hive back at the time I joined, but now I am dedicating much more time curation over authoring. Photography Lovers community is one of the most successful and recognized communities on Hive and we will do our best to keep it high on the list.

I hope and believe that Hive will continue to develop in the right direction and will have the natural and balanced growth over the following years. Product is based in an awesome way, so I am sure there is bright future in front all of us.


@pusen

I’m Pusen and I’m one of the newer members of Hive, having joined the chain in January. I’m from Norway where I work as a teacher. I’m a man of many arts and you could expect to find me in the basement playing Dungeons & Dragons as much as I’m out hiking or playing tennis. I have a strong interest in technology and that has made me interested in crypto and it’s many uses.

I quickly took to the Hive Gaming Community where I made my first few posts and this is where you should expect to find me. Although at the same time you shouldn’t be surprised to see me all around the chain in the many different communities.

I curate or rather “nominate” posts in the Hive Gaming Community for curation as part of the OCD Team. As I browse the community I keep an eye out for high quality posts that hasn’t been getting the recognition they deserve. There’s a lot of high quality content being posted every day. Everything from reviews, to first impressions and gameplay walkthroughs. It’s my job to make sure these don’t fall through the cracks and that the authors in the end get the rewards they deserve.

Hive is, in my eyes, the blockchain with the highest potential. I’m convinced that the only reason Hive isn’t more popular than it already is is because people don’t know about it. I have high hopes for the future when Hive is recognized for what it is. Hive is nothing without its users and great community and we need to build on that.

As for the Hive Gaming Community I hope for a continued future of great posts. I want it to be a community where people are not afraid to show off their achievements no matter how big or small. A place where people can speak their mind on whatever gaming related content they might wish and be recognized for it. Being one of the largest communities on Hive it’s also easy to find for new users. I want it to be a community where new users feel welcome and comfortable posting their content.


Check out the previous issue :

image.png

This concludes today’s edition of the Meet OCD curators and community leaders. We would like to thank the curators & community featured leaders here for their dedication and time finding undervalued authors.

We hope you were able to learn something new about the people behind OCD. Stay Tuned for another issue of Meet OCD's Curators and Community Leaders

The OCD team would also like to thank those that strive to make a difference. As anyone can create a post but only some can create/build value.

Stop by tomorrow for another edition of Meet OCD Curators and Authors!

Know that your Reblog supports the curators and the community leaders who dedicate their time to find your content.



OCD Has a Hive Witness ... @OCD-Witness!

You can vote for @ocd-witness, with HiveSigner or on Hive Witnesses.


@ocdb supports community curation!
You can delegate to @ocdb for daily liquid hive returns from curation rewards - check out thegoodwhales.io.

Join our Discord channel for more information.

image.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
30 Comments
Ecency