Introduction

Hello hivers.

This is a return to blogging for me after many years away so expect a few rusty posts while I find my feet on this new platform. It's going to be quite diverse posting for a while too, my years in the wilderness have brought with them a wide range of new experiences and interests which I hope to share and see which spark the most interest.

I am back in the city of my birth, Leicester, which is situated slap-bang in the centre of the UK, about as far from the sea as you can get. I did escape to the idyllic coast of Cornwall for many years but the old town drew me back eventually, but that is a whole different story.

lestah.jpg
Image Credit: mansionglobal.com

Leicester is most widely known world wide for the recent successes of it's football team Leicester City including the greatest (and most unlikely) sporting upset of all time - winning the English Premier League at 5,000-1 odds. The magnitude of this is highlighted by the odds of finding Elvis alive being only 1,000-1. Being a major nerd, I have a deep rooted affinity for odds and the mathematical side of betting. If there's interest I can share some of my insights plus my latest project building betting tools for a new website in development.

premier.JPG
Image Credit:skysports.com

Alongside my love of our football team, I also have a deep interest in the rich local history of Leicester, which dates back to Roman times and beyond. I hope to share some of this, from the widely publicised finding of the remains of King Richard III in a city car park, to some of the perhaps lesser well known gems like the Green Bicycle Murder.

kriii.jpg
Image Credit: japantimes.co.jp

Other major interests to report are the unique beers and drinking culture of Britain, as seen from both sides of the bar, and also music, the consumption and creation of which have led me astray since childhood. I like to keep busy!

#introduceyourself
#myhiveintro
#teamuk

Cheers for now.
M

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now