HIVE Emoticons ๐Ÿค”

emotic.jpg

Hi everybody! I was posting on Hive these days while I remarked the presence of this curious emoticon with no mouth at all, just a face and two eyes ๐Ÿ˜ถ. The emoticon is called ''Face Without Mouth'' and that made me laugh once more. I have further investigated this fact and I realised that the emoticon is usually used when you're losing your words or you want to express humility, silence, or even disappointment, frustration, or sadness. Interesting how the creators of this emoticon portrayed these emotions, right? ''Face without mouth'' was part of Unicode 6.0 in 2010 and it was later added in 2015 to Emoji 1.0.

Other thoughts that crossed my mind were that HIVE covers a lot of Japanese emoticons. Well, Japanese people have a tradition with emoticons. Japanese emoticons, also known as "Kaomoji'' (''Kao'' = face; ''Moji'' = character) is a popular emoticon style that is made from Japanese characters and grammar punctuations. Considering at least the anime and manga series, we can easily see that the Japanese are creative when it comes to emotions. However, some of the emoticons grounded in the Japanese culture can be a bit difficult to be digested by Eastern people.

For example, this emoticon ๐Ÿ‘ฏ is called ''Woman with Bunny Ears''. Let's now ask a European what does this emoticon wants to tell us. I imagine his face would be priceless, something like ๐Ÿ˜ถ. Except for the fact that we barely understand that this emoticon is about a woman, we see in fact two women and they are also supposed to have bunny ears. The idea is that the emoticon reiterates the Playboy bunny, only that it uses two girls suggesting the idea of fun or party girls.

Another striking emoticon for me is this one: ๐Ÿ’ข which is called ''Anger Symbol''. It doesn't tell me too much except I could use this design to renovate my bathroom. Well, this wouldn't be a good choice at all, given his significance. This is an emoticon drawn from Anime/ Manga and suggests an angry person. The symbol is that of veins popping, and in comic books, it can point out a punch landed, especially when it goes together with the words ''Bam'' or ''Pow''.

A positive thing I remarked is also that the couple/ family emoticons are very generous in HIVE: ๐Ÿ‘ซ๐Ÿ‘ฌ๐Ÿ‘ญ๐Ÿ’๐Ÿ‘ฉโ€โค๏ธโ€๐Ÿ’‹โ€๐Ÿ‘จ๐Ÿ‘จโ€โค๏ธโ€๐Ÿ’‹โ€๐Ÿ‘จ๐Ÿ‘ฉโ€โค๏ธโ€๐Ÿ’‹โ€๐Ÿ‘ฉ๐Ÿ’‘๐Ÿ‘ฉโ€โค๏ธโ€๐Ÿ‘จ๐Ÿ‘จโ€โค๏ธโ€๐Ÿ‘จ๐Ÿ‘ฉโ€โค๏ธโ€๐Ÿ‘ฉ๐Ÿ‘ช๐Ÿ‘จโ€๐Ÿ‘ฉโ€๐Ÿ‘ฆ๐Ÿ‘จโ€๐Ÿ‘ฉโ€๐Ÿ‘ง๐Ÿ‘จโ€๐Ÿ‘ฉโ€๐Ÿ‘งโ€๐Ÿ‘ฆ๐Ÿ‘จโ€๐Ÿ‘ฉโ€๐Ÿ‘ฆโ€๐Ÿ‘ฆ๐Ÿ‘จโ€๐Ÿ‘ฉโ€๐Ÿ‘งโ€๐Ÿ‘ง๐Ÿ‘จโ€๐Ÿ‘จโ€๐Ÿ‘ฆ๐Ÿ‘จโ€๐Ÿ‘จโ€๐Ÿ‘ง๐Ÿ‘จโ€๐Ÿ‘จโ€๐Ÿ‘งโ€๐Ÿ‘ฆ๐Ÿ‘จโ€๐Ÿ‘จโ€๐Ÿ‘ฆโ€๐Ÿ‘ฆ๐Ÿ‘จโ€๐Ÿ‘จโ€๐Ÿ‘งโ€๐Ÿ‘ง๐Ÿ‘ฉโ€๐Ÿ‘ฉโ€๐Ÿ‘ฆ๐Ÿ‘ฉโ€๐Ÿ‘ฉโ€๐Ÿ‘ง๐Ÿ‘ฉโ€๐Ÿ‘ฉโ€๐Ÿ‘งโ€๐Ÿ‘ฆ๐Ÿ‘ฉโ€๐Ÿ‘ฉโ€๐Ÿ‘ฆโ€๐Ÿ‘ฆ๐Ÿ‘ฉโ€๐Ÿ‘ฉโ€๐Ÿ‘งโ€๐Ÿ‘ง๐Ÿ‘จโ€๐Ÿ‘ฆ๐Ÿ‘จโ€๐Ÿ‘ฆโ€๐Ÿ‘ฆ๐Ÿ‘จโ€๐Ÿ‘ง๐Ÿ‘จโ€๐Ÿ‘งโ€๐Ÿ‘ฆ๐Ÿ‘จโ€๐Ÿ‘งโ€๐Ÿ‘ง๐Ÿ‘ฉโ€๐Ÿ‘ฆ๐Ÿ‘ฉโ€๐Ÿ‘ฆโ€๐Ÿ‘ฆ๐Ÿ‘ฉโ€๐Ÿ‘ง๐Ÿ‘ฉโ€๐Ÿ‘งโ€๐Ÿ‘ฆ๐Ÿ‘ฉโ€๐Ÿ‘งโ€๐Ÿ‘ง. This is great to see all sort of couples and families irrespective of gender or number of family members. I think it is a good thing to provide tolerance and acceptance in HIVE via Emoticons. I would also add here pets because I also think that a person (or more) and a pet (or more) are family enough for me.

Emoticons have that unique way to engage people in expressing emotions at a more profound level. They are also an opportunity to find out more about other cultures and interests. I am glad I dived into them a bit and hope it determines you to discover and maybe use new emoticons in HIVE.

To better understand the meaning of these emoticons I consulted this webpage here. It is a great tool for understanding various emoticons.

Hope you enjoyed my post and hope I will ๐Ÿ‘€ you later around.

Best,

Maylena โฃ๏ธ

.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now