My First Love

7C897AE4-FE12-41CA-95C1-0F125DFFC23E.jpeg

It’s been a beautiful Tuesday in my part of this crazy city in Nigeria called Lagos. Sitting down here with my sisters having random conversations and laughing out loud, is my highlight of this week, I don’t get to see my sisters always because we work so hard and are always at different locations.
One of the things my sisters and I talked about, is our First Love.

Oh my! I didn’t think this would be an interesting topic to talk about, lol I am laughing out so loud remembering the crazy things I did as a teenager in love (I am talking about really stupid things, hahahahahaa). Thinking about it now, I have mixed feelings. Let me tell you why;

00735E78-968D-40EA-896D-0E3B05C5F29F.jpeg

About 8 years ago, when my mom couldn’t cater to all the needs of her children alone, a good man whose daughter I helped in school, came to thank me for what I did and ended up adopting me and taking me with him to another city far away from where I grew up with my mom, a city called, Calabar. They were not very Rich, but they were comfortable and they accepted me.

One day, we all went to church and at the teenagers department I noticed this guy who just came back from boarding school being flocked around by literally all the girls in church, as much as he was cute, I was not interested in boys, I didn’t want any distraction but Boy, was I in for the greatest distraction of my life?
He walked up to me, ignoring the other girls who I really think were cuter than me and obviously all from a rich background as him and said “Hey can I see your book? What’s the title”?

“in pursuit of purpose by Myles Munroe” I replied as I quickly stood up and left

I really thought ignoring him like that was going to help, but I think the universe had other plans because every time, we ended up in the same group in church and it kept us close to each other.
Long Story short, Sam became the love of my life in no time, he swept me off my feet and gradually His mom fell in love with me too. Oh! Yes! His mom knew we were in love and she had no problem with that, Sam was her only son and only child and she wanted him to have whatever made him happy. she saw that he was the best version of himself when we were together and she really liked me around.

77DE37ED-371B-4F20-8969-3C32B67307C0.jpeg
[source]( an old picture of me that Sam took)

I started spending so much time with Sam and his mom and soon became part of their small Family, I was happier with them than I was with my adopted Family, who at this point was not happy with my constant absence from home.

Sam was my best friend, we did everything together, like writing our first JAMB Exams ( JAMB is an Exam you write in my country after high school to qualify you for College), learning how to drive together, taking musical instrument class together, shopping together and a lot more. He was the first man and human to give me Forehead kisses( I might have received a lot as a baby though), and it was pure love, absent of immorality, we were together for about 6months and didn’t even kiss on the lips. On the 7th month we had our first kiss, which was my First kiss but not his, I was in the kitchen cooking something and he came there and kissed me, in the process, I leaned towards the hot pot and It burnt my skin a bit and left me with a scar on my arm (see picture below), Lol, I guess I won’t forget that kiss in a hurry.

1EC0B38B-6C2A-4D28-AE58-D95513FB54A9.jpeg

I remember it like yesterday and It makes me smile so hard( I am smiling right now even as I type this) , the long midnight phone calls, talking about random stuff, trying to control our loud laughter to avoid alerting our family who would be sleeping, sneaking out of the house to take long walks, sleeping in his arms while watching our favorite show, holding hands together always and the beautiful forehead kisses, not forgetting the times I’d fake being in pains just to get his attention and how he’d drop whatever he was doing to attend to me, and also how he used to sing ALL OF ME by John Legend to me every night. Oh! I want to feel this love again, everyone deserves such love.

040AE140-128E-4C8B-8C2C-79B0F03DDEA0.jpeg

My Adopted Family got upset and gave me a restraining order, curfews and asked me to stop seeing Sam. This made Sam’s Mom pissed and she also asked him to stop seeing me too. Of course, it didn’t work, as i and Sam found a way to always meet, but sooner than later, both families found out and my phone was seized and hidden from me for months, the only way I could see him was in Church.
Sam’s Mom didn’t hate me, she still loved me but she hated the drama and trouble my adopted Family was giving, she was trying to avoid the embarrassment that might likely happen and I didn’t blame her one bit.

One day, I came to church, and Sam wasn’t in church, I waited till the end of service and ran out to look out for his mom, she came out from the main auditorium wearing a smile as always
“My darling, how are you”
“I am fine, Ma. Please where is Samuel”?

“Samuel has gone to meet his Dad in UK, he tried to reach you but your number was not available, he came to your house, your daddy opened the gate and told him you were not at home, So he left a message”

“ NO one told me anything , Ma” I busted into tears, as my heart was breaking into pieces at this point
She tried to console me, but it wasn’t working.

I soon left Calabar back to my Biological Family and I have not seen nor heard from Samuel Again, its been about 7years or so. My heart still feels the pain.

Thanks For Reading

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now