Digital Art: Shaman

shaman.jpg

I present you a piece made in 2017 which I'm really proud of.
It was made as most of my works, without a plan or a strong concept, I just started sketching a man on paper and I was having a lot of fun with composition.

Suddenly a story came to my mind... Since I was (and still am) heavily influenced by the culture of primitive tribes; healers, rituals and mystery, I thought about burden which lays on shamans.
Carrying other's daemons as a vessel, guiding them to leave, making space for light.
A subtle yet dangerous dance with the spirits, powerful but humble...

shaman_process.jpg

I don't usually follow the same process with coloring and in this case I started with simple hue and I was applying colors one by one, sharpening details and blurring out the outlines to the point they were gone and I was happy with the result.
I based a composition on arabesque, which gives a feel of movement. I also tried to focus on diagonals and golden ratio - it's mostly an intuitive process. A classic and well known painting of Van Gogh ispired me to do so:
Starry Night Van Gogh

If you're an artist and struggle to make your composition right, I strongly recommend you to draw composition lines on your work (or photo of it) to find mistakes. It looks more or less like this:

shaman composition.jpg

And that's it. Thank you for your attention and have an amazing day everyone ✌️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center