The Most Expensive Car In The World?

Here's a little bit of history for you: check out the psychedelic paint job on John Lennon's 1965 Rolls-Royce Phantom V touring limousine.

P2050057.jpg

I saw this car in the lobby of the Royal BC Museum recently. (The museum is closed now for the quarantine.) It does have a pretty wild paint job as you can see, and it includes a turntable for all you vinyl record fans. Oh... and it's got a bed in case you want to take it camping!

P2050056.jpg

Lennon paid an artist to paint it just before the release of Sgt. Pepper's in 1967. I wonder what people thought of it at the time? I'll bet Rolls-Royce was not amused, although perhaps they enjoyed the publicity.

P2050062.jpg

John and Yoko took the car to New York City in 1970, and it was eventually donated to the Cooper-Hewitt Museum of Design after Lennon's death.

P2050054.jpg

In 1985 it was purchased from Sotheby's for 2.2 million dollars... I guess thats where the "most expensive car in the world" label comes from although today you could pay up to 5 million for something like a new Lamborghini Veneno... if you want the power windows option that is.

P2050053.jpg

The car was donated to the BC museum in 1986 and roughly once a year when they are between major displays and there is nothing else going on they put this thing on display.

P2050052.jpg

Absolutely everything I know about the car comes from the sign above. All photos were taken by me, @keithboone. What would you do if someone gave this car to you? I think I'd give it a new paint job but that's just me! Nah... I'm kidding. You could never change this paint job, it's part of history!

It was fifty-three years ago today, Sgt. Pepper taught the band to play...

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center