How Did I exchanged my Japanese driving licence for UAE version

UAE is allowing the foreign driving license to exchange to UAE version by the means of simply converting it, only if the country issued your license was one of the list of accredited country. Otherwise you need to pass a test in the UAE before being granted a license.

Japan is one among 32 countries accredited by the UAE government to simply a case of converting their national license. The 32 countries are GCC countries, Finland, France, Germany, Japan, the Netherlands, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Greece, Ireland, Italy, New Zealand, Norway, Turkey, Poland, UK, US, Portugal, Spain, South Korea, Sweden, South Africa and Romania.

image.png

What is the step by step did I take for this process?

tl;dr - it only took me 2 days for the whole process.

image.png

The first day is I went to Vehicles and Drivers Licensing Directorate located near at Mushrif mall, Abu Dhabi. I ask the receptionist for the whole process and show her my Japan driving license, she told me to take an eye test just a few blocks away from her. It was an easy process for the eye test, the doctor want to make sure you can see the color and small details of the letter, it cost 100 aed (approx. 27 USD).

Right after the eye test, I need to go to the translation team because they are asking for an Arabic letter and translation from Japan embassy so I immediately rush to Japan embassy and queue in line because there are pile of people who are applying for a tourist in Japan, it took me almost 2 hours, immediately after they accepted my papers then they told me to come back again tomorrow for the collection of papers. It cost 70 aed for the translation and the letter or approximately 19 USD.

The second day is I came back to Japan embassy to collect the letter and brought it on Vehicles and Drivers Licensing Directorate, I came to translation team booth and pay 153 aed or approximately 42 USD. Then they asked to download the app and pay the license online for the final fee of 600 aed or 164 USD. In total, it cost the whole process of 923 aed or 252 USD.

Anndddd.... woola, congratulation to myself, I got a new UAE driving license with God's help and mercy.

Some of my friends told me that I am lucky to get a UAE driving license so easily and cheap, but in the back of my mind it was an additional cost for what I already paid in Japan that cost 9,100 aed or approximately 2,490 USD for taking a driving school theory and exams in Japan.

Who am I?

My name is Hiro a loving husband, a Hiver since 2017, a world explorer, a Hive marketer, a cat lover, and a proud Christian of the MCGI.

WhatsApp Image 2022-09-16 at 11.26.01 PM.jpeg

I discovered Hive back in 2017 when I was doing my research. My goal on Hive is I want to use the stake power up to be able to help the community. I prayed to God to help me to be able to become a cheerful giver to anyone who is lacking like food, medicine, and livelihood. Hope you can follow my journey

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center