A walk in the wasteland and taking a peek at entrance to the underground tunnels

Between the warehouse district just outside the city, barely a kilometer from here, lies the wasteland that is left by the russian military decades back. I was one of the lucky few, who managed to visit the multi-storied underground station, before it was demolished and succumbed by the monstrous warehouses.

Apparently, it was dangerous (well, of course it was - it was dark, with sharp rusted metal spikes) as well as it attracted all kinds of unwanted people. Looters, junkies, explorers, adrenaline junkies. I think some of the lower levels needed descending with ropes to access them. Anyway, on the second story down, there was a large underground hall, where large parties were held.

The large underground facility is gone, but as one drives through the warehouse district he will find that the wasteland is still there, with underground tunnels still connecting right below your feet. 3 or 4 entrances, with most of the tunnels flooded up to your knees, one can walk through these with rubber boots in a dry period.

The path behind the "doghouse" dwindles between the bushes and the traveller is immediately greeted with colourless grass, trees without leaves, and remnants of old times.

Trash heaps are getting less and less and nature feels beautiful here even without the colors.

Concrete posts from an age-old fence still stand in line like good soldiers under the dramatic sky.

Someone has been breaking bottles here, I guess no-one really takes care of this area, until the real estate developers take this place over. But perhaps not! Guess the main reason these tunnels are still intact is that the nature conservationists have been lobbying hard. Namely, the tunnels are a home for bats, who come here to spend the cold winter.


Behind this trash heap was one alleged but collapsed entry to the tunnels. I didn't find it. Maybe it's the wrong heap. There are a few.

The wasteland starts to display some more colors as we walk further, introducing green. The pines separate the private residential area just a stone's throw away from the entry to the underground tunnels.

The sign says that from September 1st until April 30th, the underground tunnels are the permanent habitat to the bats and hanging around the tunnels is prohibidabado for us two-legged creatures during that time. Fine! But I'm going into the facility above the tunnels to get you a shot of the tunnel entry.

I'm already creeped out upon my approach. I'm going alone and as I've said, exploring along is hella creepy. After navigating through the facility and reaching the farthest of rooms, I find the entrance to the tunnels. Doesn't look like it at first sight, but I remember climbing through it a few years back.

There were three of us at that time and I remember everyone looking at each other, thinking who would go first. No-one knew what was down there and crawling into the dark unknown tunnel is one thing I do not wish to be doing regularly. Although it gives me the thrills that I so much like.

As I turn around and start leaving the facility, something moves in the corner and makes a sound. "Fuck!" I make it out of the facility in 2 seconds, not looking back. "Fuck these holes".

Outside in the daylight we move on - here's a shot from behind the facility. This concrete structure most probably used to be hidden - if I remember correctly, it was bit more hidden just last year - but the weather has done it's job, allowing the ground to dry and slide right off.

A few more steps and we're in the private residential area. It's nice here, couldn't imaging underground military structures just a minute's walk from here.

The birch stumps here are producing sap like crazy. People tell it's one the best things for your health that you can drink and it tastes quite well too. A bit like mildly sweetened water. I have a birch just in our yard, maybe I should get some sap....

I don't usually photograph flowers, but there are these weird flowers only growing in this small strip of sand... perhaps the sand that was brought here was riddled with seeds?

Bonus: Spot the beast! There's a cat laying in the sun.


Perhaps I'll go visit the tunnels after April 30th, when the bats won't mind anymore.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now