My Stamp Collection | Castles of Spain that gave their name to Castilian, better known as Spanish.

Ninth installment of my philatelic collection, a hobby without a niche in the hive, it will surely remain for museums or history galleries.

More monastery and palace, it was the seat of the imperial government of Philip II, the palace of El Escorial, and Juan de Herrera the architect.


I have included the mills of La Mancha, as they are the famous enemies of the knight Don Quixote, and some palaces that are very representative of Iberian culture.



Granada's Mozarabic palace and a walled monastery on top of a mountain.


The castle of La Mota behind General Francisco Franco. A chapter of the civil war and the subsequent dictatorship that for four decades filled coins and stamps with his portrait.


He included these fortifications from other nationalities because, being so few, they do not warrant a separate publication. Furthermore, except for distant Hungary, Monaco is in neighboring France and Portugal on the same Iberian Peninsula.

Today I keep my collection on slide sheets, since the original album was damaged by a flood in which some copies were lost and of which I keep the initial page where the date appears with the dedication of the person who gave it to me, since before I kept the stamps on chocolate or tobacco boxes, arranged on rustic paper accordions.
It is certainly a shame not to have learned sooner to preserve these little pieces of history.


Photos taken with my cell phone, text written in Spanish and translated with Google

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now