This is my altar of “Día de Muertos” (The Day of the Dead)

IMG-20211102-WA0000.jpg

The Day of the Dead or Día de Muertos is one of the most important traditions here in Mexico and maybe my favorite one. It is a very colorful tradition that celebrates life and there are so many activities and things to see and do during these days. Nowadays the government and the companies took the opportunity to make this a tourist event, and it is fine because it’s a way to share and create some jobs and income for our people.

IMG-20211029-WA0010.jpeg

A very common one is to make an altar. People do this at home and dedicate it to their relatives. I do it every year and in the picture, you can see this year altar. This one was particularly dedicated to my grandmother who died this year. I put her picture on the top of the altar with some flowers, a chocolate skull water and some tequila. I put the tequila on because she really like it, and not so long ago she took a couple of shots. So I think she would appreciate it.

IMG-20211029-WA0008.jpeg

I also dedicated the altar to a couple of my best friends of all times, Thor and Zeus my dogs. Some people get angry when you mix dogs and people in the altars, but they were very important to me, do I decided to keep them there.

IMG-20211029-WA0006.jpeg

As you can see, many of the flowers in the altar are orange, that is because the most traditional flower of this season is the Cempasuchil, and it is orange. Here is a picture of it.

IMG_20211024_092850.jpg

Even the streets are full of Cempasuchil flowers.

IMG_20211024_092859_1.jpg

Also in the streets you can find some big skulls decorated by some artists. This year they made some inspired in Frida Kahlo and I took a couple of pictures of them, but there were so many people around and a big line to get a picture with the skulls. I decided to just pass by and took the pics with all the people around.

20211024_170114.jpg

IMG_20211024_170422_1.jpg

There is also the Big Parade, but it is so crowded and in Covid times I felt it was better to see it on TV.

See you soon...

Eduardo from @elteamgordo

profile001.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now