HIVE COMMUNITY - My Introduction Post

Hello hive community and welcome to my blog my names Emmanuella Louis Okereke is and this is my first blog on @hive.

I was introduced by a friend of mine @graciousvic some weeks ago and then I decided to do some research about this great platform and I was amazed by the results.
I am really excited to be a member of this platform as it is like nothing I have ever seen before. Here on hive I saw some amazing and creative post written by young intelligent minds ,I also saw so many communities with different functions and for different purposes and I hope to be a member of vary communities very soon .I am a Nigeria citizen and hail from Anambra state which is located at the south eastern side of the country that makes me Igbo by tribe .

ABOUT ME

The Igbo tribe is one of the largest populated tribes in Nigeria and hasvariety of cultures and traditions so many About the Igbo people but that is on a different blog,now back to me .
I was born on the 25th of December in Plateau state which is also located in Nigeria but at the middle belt region of the country,these state is known for their riches in the coal resources and a freezing weather, it's even rumored to snow there.I was brought up in Plateau by both parents in a nuclear family of 7 kids ,I identify as the fourth born child and third daughter of my family .

MY HOBBY

Also I'm a 5’11 foot brown skinned basketball player . I started to play basketball at a very young age of 9 but didn't really take it seriously just did it as an outdoor sport and recreation but then I began to much more interest in the game in secondary school where I played as the team's female captain,I represented my school in many competitions ,from school I got introduced to the state team by my school coach as he said i was good for the game and will advance in a few years time depending on my consistency.

After my high school graduation I joined the state team (J town hoops).at first it was supposed to last for just a few months as I already applied for admission into the university in a different state which I did get admitted into school in early February of 2022 but was held down by the ASUU strike which was which was as a result of the refusal to pay the lecturers and other workers.
At first when I heard that the school I got admitted into will going on strike ,I had mixed feelings,I was sad because I anticipated going into school at that time of the year and on the other hand I was happy because I was going to keep up with my training and will still be a member of the team I loved so either ways a win is a win.I played for the J town hoops of Plateau and positioned as guard or center for my team.My mentors and idol in basketball are Liz Cambridge and Brittney Grinner.

After several months of delay the strike was called off,but I still couldn't resume school sadly because the region which my school was located at is a riverine area and was flooded due to the water opened by the Cameroon dam,Sadly this flood took nearly 4 months to subside ,summed up with the delay from ASUU I literally spent a year at home all thanks to basketball it wasn't an idle one.
Early this year the flood was finally over and school resumed . I am a student of the Federal University of Otuoke located at Bayelsa state which is at the Southern side of the country .

EDUCATIONAL BACKGROUND

I study mechatronics engineering which consist of mechanicals and robotics and I look forward to advancing to greater heights in these field of study.as we all know the world is rapidly growing in the technological aspect and new discoveries are been made, transportation and communication has been made easier and faster and so many other things made easier in our lives all thanks to technology so I'll love too be a part o f this great advancement positively.
As a student schooling far from home . schooling has not really been easy,you have to read at your best as expected of you, sometimes you have to stave through out a day due to 8hrs lectures fixed by lecturers and on the other hand it's been fun though,you know there is this feeling of independence when you get to stay in house your own , make new friends hangout with new people and all that. Just as I said earlier I hope to advance. I hope to advance in my course of study of school, specifically robotics and I'll love to attain my P.H degree in Engineering by the grace of God.

WHAT I DO

Apart from my academic and athletic life ,I bake. I'm a semi professional caterer .I started my catering classes during the COVID-19 lockdown in 2020 . It was a great experience for real ,in the catering class I was the youngest at the age 16 most of my colleagues were salary earners who got tired of staying at home due to the lock down , some of them were double age and others much older . At first it wasn't easy adapting to being around them because I am an introverted person. I kinda find it hard to relate with people physically, hence it was hard for me to communicate with my colleagues which made me fumble .

During class I was always scared to ask questions . little did I know that I was been observed by a colleague, she spoke to me and asked me to always next to her so she could monitor my work and make sure I was doing the right thing and it worked within a space of time I adopted to the environment and everyone in it , I even made friends with most of them before the term was over . The class lasted for six months and I graduated as a certified caterer. I still hope to advance so I could become a professional in that arena .
I bake varieties of cakes and pastries and I also cook variety of dishes hope to show off my work here on hive
I have no experience with the crypto world but hope to be a part of it soon .
I love to meet new people and learn new things ,and also to cook and involve in outdoor sports, I hope too share my knowledge with everyone on hive as well as to acquire new ones.

Good to be here, Thank You For Reading

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center