Hold Me

~

My big city dreams

of dressing up and ball rooms

Bright lights in concrete jungle

In the splendour of the new

Your hue is set to clear the grey

But my walls are empty

My diary is blank

and the streets are lonely

Our song is playing

on the juke box in our favourite bar

overwhelm me with your touch

soft hands like silk

Hold me from trembling

Your eyes don't lie

but close your eyes for this moment

dance slowly as you hold my hand

feel the air around us

Hold me in your toughts

My love is in your trust and care

Tell me I am special

Make me yours forever

~


image.png

pinterest



Commentary

Hello Reader,

Hope you've been well. This period has been difficult on everyone across the globe because of the pandemic. I can assure you that this will pass over. Do not fear, be patient and show kindness. I hope when this blows over the world we be a better place with more compassion.

Hold me is a piece about being in the company of the one you love and trust. Letting go of everything in the moment while setting your thoughts on a singularity that encompasses all - love


Progressive Theme

The poem begins with a theme of an accomplished dream success but it doesn't make any sense without having someone to share it with. It makes the abstract feelings real and physical while setting a graphical theme of monochrome transcending to colours.


Thoughts

I thought about setting the theme in somewhat dark and sexy but as I began writing in my thought process everything changed. It was initially titled Hold Me In The Dark but I had to give it light cause love is a language of colours.

Dante is here no fear

Lanre Sonde
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center