Creating a volcano at home with my cousin



cl7pc1wf4004c0wm76gmy5m5u_IMG_7871.webp
Final result of the volcano after erupting that came inside the set I gave to my 7 year old cousin.
cl7pc1zes00431tm7fvsv4wx7_IMG_7824.webp
Toy that I gave to my cousin containing a model of a triceratops, a book on how to create a volcano with its reagents ( sodium bicarbonate, red dye, etc).
cl7pc224800320pm7a872fv1q_IMG_7857.webp
First, my cousin and I place the volcano mold in a deep dish. It is recommended that it be deep to avoid spilling the "magma" on the table.
cl7pc250s003n15m747ssd0z4_IMG_7858.webp
Next, we add on the cone of the volcano wine vinegar that contains acetic acid. Lemon juice would also be useful as it contains citric acid.
cl7pc27vg003v21m7dr6rddot_IMG_7859.webp
With the help of the plastic pipette provided with the toy, we will take 2 mL of red dye that comes in the kit.
cl7pc2akf003h0im7hwmqgkna_IMG_7860.webp
Subsequently, we add this coloring to the volcanic cone where the vinegar is and with the own pipette we can shake the mixture.
cl7pc2dag003y2dm72wfy3fpt_IMG_7862.webp
In order to give it a more solid consistency, we add wheat flour on top of the volcanic cone and mix it with the vinegar and the red coloring.
cl7pc2frk003x1lm75ub4a5er_IMG_7866.webp
In the plastic cup provided with the toy, add a spoonful of sodium bicarbonate and add water so that it dissolves.
cl7pc2iao004e0wm75eyeaamg_IMG_7868.webp
Finally we add with the pipette the sodium bicarbonate solution on the vinegar with coloring and flour.
cl7pc2lcp00451tm7c02vdwuv_IMG_7870.webp
As a result of the chemical reaction we obtained our volcanic eruption without projecting pyroclasts (LOL).

Nice to greet you again friends of #Hive and #Liketu.

As I told you recently a few weeks ago I visited the Jurassic Museum of Asturias with my aunt and uncle and a 7 year old cousin of mine.

Jurassic Museum Post

As a result of this visit, in the Jurassic Museum itself, I bought him a set comprising a model of a triceratops, a book on the creation of the earth, various experiments on the generation of gases in the atmosphere and an experiment and reagents to generate the eruption of a volcano.

In the photographs, I show you the steps we followed to achieve the great volcanic eruption and have fun together.

As a result of these experiments and the visit to the Jurassic Museum, my cousin now wants to be an archaeologist. Like all little girls, what they are excited about generates their interest and makes them want to be a profession for the future. What memories when I wanted to be a chemist as a child after a chemistry toy and now, by the way, I am a chemist. Ha, ha, ha, ha.

Best regards.

Pictures taken with my iPhone SE.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version).


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center