MY FIRST TIME AS A BEST MAN

MY FIRST TIME AS A BEST MAN

IMG-20220730-WA0005~2.jpg

I don't know if it is done the same way in other countries, but in my own country "Nigeria", there is always a best man in a Marriage ceremony (the one we call "white wedding"). This best mans' job is to stay beside the main groom throughout the occasion, he will assist him in virtually everything he would want to do that day (even up to wiping the sweat on his face). Well that was the job I was given to carry out on that day.
Note: I didn't ask for it , He just loved me to do the work for him and I agreed to the task.

HOW IT STARTED
It was on my junior sister's marriage ceremony, I came around with my friends and hers also to bid her farewell we were all elegantly dressed,

I had decided not to participate in anything that day as supposed, I just wanted to sit tight and catch the moment, I didn't want to miss any, ( it's my immediate junior sister we are talking about here).
I was looking very good and different on that day, almost everyone had their eyes on me, seemed like I was grabbing the day from my sister.
IMG-20220528-WA0009.jpg
I and my friends at my sister's wedding day, all elegantly dressed.

Also, it was a time to meet a lot of people of old times who had come for the wedding. So I was very active that day, moving from one place to another, I wanted to greet every body if it were possible. but I still spared time to watch my sister exchange marital vows with her husband and also watched everything that went after that. it was after that, my younger brother walked to me and indicated that there was someone looking for me outside the hall , I went out to meet him. While leaving the hall, I met his wife (to be then) and she told me how they've been searching for me.
I went out and we discussed, he said he wanted me to be his best man on his own wedding day.... I hesitated a bit before agreeing, he is a very good friend of mine, of course I can't turn down the offer even if I wanted to, but I told him beforehand that it would be my first time, I had never done something like that and hence don't know how it's been carried out.
But he told me not to worry, that their are no much procedures to it. well I reluctantly agreed to what he said. we took measurements for my clothes, I got to know about when and where the wedding would hold and other things, and then we dispersed after the wedding.

HOW IT ENDED

We kept in contact since then, I was really enthusiastic , I was looking forward to that day coming and going , everyday, I was filled with thoughts of how well my performances would be that day, I didn't want to mess everything up. The worst part of all is that , I'm not a good dancer, and I was told that best men always danced at wedding ceremonies along with the groom (well, mine was different cos I didn't dance πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚).that made me more nervous, I just told my self "you have gotten yourself into it already, and you are not getting out, so deal with it."
Finally the D Day came was around the corner and I had to travel to their place before the main day (we were not residing in the same State) so I had to travel to Imo state, two days before the wedding and stated at my family's there in Imo State, I didn't want to inconvenience the man or his wife to be. Already they had brought my clothes to me some weeks ago at my residence.
The next day I went to be with them , I think my job started there, I went with him to places and came back, worked at the premises where the event will be held , although they didn't want to stress me that much, but I'd rather not be Idle, when others are working , I would look stupid.
The day was far spent, and everybody retired home to rest and prepare for the next day , but rest was far from me. I sat up most of the night, watching my phone and thinking of the next coming hours, I even went as far as searching for some YouTube videos of best men and how they had performed. then I finally slept off, but was woken up almost immediately by my groom's man (or so I thought). But, surprisingly, the nervousness were all gone that morning, I had wanted to be at the church already.
I got everything ready, polished our shoes and left to take my bath. when I returned the groom's man was almost dressed up. he was more ready than I was. then I also dressed up before the camera man came in and decided I start making the groom's man up again (something I have already done) for him to take pictures and videos, I had to start afresh, before we got to the car and zoomed off.

IMG_20220730_122050_378.jpg
About to set trip

When we got to the church, people were already gathered ,from different parts of the country to grace the occasion, and then it started again , I could feel the nervousness lump in my throat, I had to calm myself down, before opening the door... MEN!!! All eyes were on me !!! , I walked cautiously as to not miss step and fall, thankfully I didn't. I made to go and open the other door for the groom's man, but before I could reach there he was already out and walking into the church (he really has no shame at allπŸ₯ΊπŸ₯ΊπŸ˜‚) but we were told to wait until called to March in, when I heard this, my mind skipped for a moment, the moment I've been avoiding since.
Well, long story short we were finally called in and all the long hours, while marching in, I kept a straight face, not wanting to make eye contact with anybody to avoid bursting into laughter for no reason, of which I nearly succeeded except for one woman, but I didn't burst into laughter, I just smiled widely.
Throughout the occasion I just kept that straight face, just smiling briefly on intervals , and It helped reduce the nervousness, and made me act normally,
that day was really fun honestly, it got to a point I began to enjoy what I was doing, I began walking about, meeting people and taking pictures. Although I was accused for not dancing by my friends (which I did in my own little way) saying I'm not a good best man,but I was glad I didn't ruin the day,for myself and for everyone.

IMG-20220731-WA0002.jpg
Chief bride's maid

IMG-20220730-WA0004.jpg
Best man of the occasion

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center