Making stylish handmade shorts

Today I’ll show you how I made this shorts

img_7512.jpg

The materials I used for this project is a 3 mm hook,yarn,scissors and a measuring tape

img_6963.heic

img_6965.heic

To begin with, I made sure to take accurate measurements with my measuring tape of my waist,hips and length of shorts before beginning this project. After that I proceeded to make the waist band. I started by making a chain of 11 using the black loop only,half double crochet stitch. I crocheted till it measured up to 3 inches behind my actual waist measurement this is because I wanted the waist band to be very fitted on my waist and yarn stretches a lot
img_6969.heic

When I was done with that I folded the waist band together and used the single crochet stitch to join both ends

img_7012.heic

When that was done I proceeded to work in the round by chaining one and putting 2 single crochet stitch in each ridge of my waist band. When that was done I slip stitched to start a new row chained 2 and began using double crochet stitches to make the actual shorts. I took measurements from above my belle button to above my crotch area and using that measurement as a reference, I began double crocheting till I got to my required measurement
img_7037.heic

When I crocheted to my required measurements I counted my stitches divided the number I got into 2 and put my stitch marker to indicate the middle stitch
I made a chain long enough to divide my crotch area leaving enough space fr my laps
When I had made the chain I slip stitched it into the middle stitch dividing the project into 2 now I’m working on the body of the shorts and I’m going to do that one leg after the other. After slip stitching into my middle stitch I did a chain of 2 and began working on one leg going round using double crochet stitch when I got to the middle of my thigh i decided to spice it up a little bit and added some rows of mesh stitches to it
img_7102.heic

I created this mesh stitch by combining double crochet stitches and chain stitch. After doing double crochet stitch I chained one and skipped one stitch that formed the mesh stitch. I continued the mesh stitch for an inch and half then I continued with just double crochet stitches inserting it into both the stitch and chain one of the mesh.

img_7991.png

I continued working round with double crochet stitches till the length was at my knee length, to finish it off I added one more row of mesh stitch. When I was done with that I cut of the yarn and used my darning needle to sow in any excess yarn and repeated the same process for the next leg.

img_7993.png

img_7994.png

img_7330.heic

img_7322.heic

img_7276.heic

That’s how I successfully made this shorts
** inserts image **

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center