My introduction

I am delighted to introduce myself as Akintade Aanuoluwapo, formerly Olanrewaju Aanuoluwapo. Few months ago, I got married to my long-term friend, Akintade Samson. Though I have embraced and adopted his surname. I'm still deeply, maybe like other newly Weds attached to my maiden name, 'Olanrewaju', the surname I've borne for nearly thirty years. Many attribute this attachment to its great meaning. Olanrewaju, of course, a Yoruba name, that implies 'wealth is going forward,' a decIaration that I believe has been manifesting in my life, and more reason I think I want to hold unto it. Name, especially to me is more than a means of Identity but something that has great implications on the bearer. Though norms and traditions from my place call that I drop my father's name to bear my husband's, I have devise a means to blend the two. So, I can be called 'Olanrewaju Aanuoluwapo Akintade'.
I was born and raised in Modakeke, a quaint town in Osun State southwestern Nigeria, Africa, my upbringing was deeply rooted in Yoruba culture. Despite its modest size, my hometown provided a rich and fulfilling environment for growth. I had my primary, education at Baptist Day Primary School, where a great deal of morals and discipline were instilled. However, my childhood was also marked by turmoil. It was during a crisis between my community and the neighbouring town. It was a period of communal unrest and attacks. Houses were razed, lives were lost, and our community was almost displaced. Amidst the instability, my primary education was temporarily halted due to school closures, as safety concerns for teachers and students escalated. Yet, above all chaos, divine providence sustained me and my family.
However, this complex blend of tranquility and turmoil shaped my formative years, and is forever etching the vibrant colors of Modakeke into my being. As I witnessed and experienced the mayhem between the two communities, education became my sanctuary. I recall the warmth of my primary school teachers, who reignited my passion for learning amidst turmoil and their dedication inspired me to pursue knowledge relentlessly.

My secondary education introduced me to the world of literature, where I found solace in the works of Wole Soyinka, Chinua Achebe, and other African literary giants. Their stories resonated with my own experiences, fueling my desire to tell authentic African narratives. Tertiary education also broloadened my horizons. It exposed me to diverse perspectives and cultures. I began to weave my experiences into written words, crafting stories that reflected the beauty and resilience of people around me.
Today, as a writer, I strive to share many untold stories and explore themes of identity, culture, social justice and inspire others to find strength in their unique experiences. My stories on this platform will also capture the ease and stress of an average African man. I'm so happy to join this platform and I'm thankful to my referral @kingsleyy
I'm ready to read, write and learn more to attain my goals.
Thanks for the opportunity!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center