It's my cakeday today

6 long years that have somehow felt even longer.

I think the burnout got to me eventually, many say you don't even really realize you're in one and just keep dragging it out but your brain isn't really working as well as it should and your energy levels are constantly low. Needless to say the vacation I had recently was very refreshing and now I'm back just in time for my 6th year on this chain and looking forward to evolve and improve more of the projects I'm currently focusing on so I will be updating you a bit on that later in the post.

As for me personally, I've been travelling quite a lot lately, had to do some last medical procedures that took a while to recover from, mostly health related of things I've neglected and kept postponing to take care of as I was quite busy with things here. Yes, I know, real life and health should come first but I've always been the kind of person who focuses on one thing at a time, and since there's so many things to do here on and around Hive it has kept me quite busy.

I also finally got to meet my girlfriend, met her on chain initially almost three years ago but at the time crypto wasn't doing too well for me to travel and shortly after covid hit and blocked me from getting to meet her. Needless to say it was a long time coming and I've had a great time so far being with her.

image.png

Shot with my phone

Now that I've settled down a bit I'm catching up on things I've missed, wish the rest of the world would also as there's so much things going on on Hive that its marketcap is ridiculous compared to some of the literal garbage that is out there. Oh well, better opportunities for us I guess, can't help if most people want to be late to the party so let's keep building stuff until they get here.

Some things I've been doing while I've been "afk", is make sure @poshtoken has been keeping buy orders in for $POSH so those sharing their Hive links on Twitter have been able to collect some rewards for it in Hive. Most of this buy pressure has come from @poshtoken buying up posh by itself through curation or post rewards, some from my own Hive and there's been a few other buyers speculating on the token. I've also still been manually curating on my account through my phone, this time not read as much but every now and then and other times trusted that the authors I'm upvoting aren't abusing or anything after giving the posts a glance, I trust in their reputation.

As for POSH, I've been trying to get the account to grow and sort of become its own DAO where in the future it will be able to hire devs, more artists, etc, to create more projects and services surrounding the token. I'm quite proud of the distribution as you could probably say it is one of the fairest ones out there, maybe even more so than Hive (:P) although I'm constantly working on making that distribution fairer and better through @ocd, @ocdb, etc. The fair and long distribution of POSH is a great starting point to evolve from as it's one of the things most projects lack and in one way or another bites them in the ass later. I've been using the reward pool to grow the project, with people trusting me that I'm doing and will do with the funds what I say and if anything were to happen they'd go right back to the DHF or get burned (whatever the community thinks is best). I'm also happy to see that people are getting a bit more lenient with how the reward pool can be used, i.e. hbdstabilizer and certain other projects that aren't strictly content but aren't only profiting a single entity or project but the chain and ecosystem as a whole.

With that having said, whatever things we end up creating with and around POSH, the end game will always be to incentivize sharing of our links onto web2 and get more people to do so, maybe even have users sign up specifically for that even if they aren't content creators or interested in other things Hive.

One thing that we will focus on with POSH are a few changes that @rishi556 is working on currently. Figuring out what it is that is causing some users' eligible shares not to be counted (that darn twitter API) and after that getting the long talked POSH PETS NFT out there created by the amazing artist @astrocreator. That's something to look forward to, I know I am as I really love how they ended up looking and what it will mean for POSH holders and the buy back program of @poshtoken.

With OCD we will also be striving to improve things as we go forward. I recently asked @dalz if he could provide monthly statistic posts of our activities not just so others get a better look at them but also as something for us to look more concretely at and try to improve over time. We're hoping for more niche communities to join our incubation and maybe even create some of our own (one of our ideas was Hive Pets for instance which seems to have been doing rather well).

I have some other ideas and works in progress but I'll write about them when I get closer to crossing that bridge. I also need to get better at writing again as it feels like I'm posting once a month or something lately and I remember to really enjoy it and interact with my followers in the comment section of my posts and theirs.

One step at a time, for now just saying hi with a quick update and happy to be back. Let's see where the next few years will get us.

Here's to 2190 days, 1919 posts, 22488 comments and 104201 manual upvotes cast in that time with hopefully a lot more to come.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now